We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little Zululand Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghost Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Certificate of Excellence
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little Zululand Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ghost Mountain Inn is a great place to stay in northern Zululand. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you. Jean, the woman who does the game drives, is very knowledgeable and passionate about the bush and surrounding areas. She took us into Mkuze for a drive that was amazing -- not just for the scenery but also for the passion she shared about the reserve and the little bits of knowledge she shared with us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear stephmiami,
We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that Jean was able to share Mkhuze game reserve with you and what makes it such a special spot. Thanks for your review and also for those great pics of the reflection of the mountains in the water. Great pics!
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    128
    34
    9
    0
See reviews for
71
178
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Staff are friendly and professional. Meals are lovely, rooms are quiet and always clean, tidy and well made up.

When I'm working in the area it is always my first choice of place to stay. Thanks again :-)

Room Tip: I always ask to be put into one of the old rooms, they are smaller, but I really love the private co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

In my opinion a hotel can be judged by the quality and friendliness of the staff. This is a feeling that permeates through the whole establishment and is the highlight of a visit to Ghost Mtn.
I visit regularly as part of my work but this visit was pure holiday with some friends from the USA. They were totally overwhelmed by the ambience and peace permeating the place. They loved the rooms and staff. We also took part in a trip to a Zulu homestead high up in the mountains (a great experience and wonderful chance to chat with local people and learn more about their culture), and this was a highlight.
Also took ourselves to nearby Mkuze Game Reserve (get Jean to arrange a visit to the hide in winter - first class!.
Where else are you met by a member of the management team on arrival and greeted by departure?
My favourite place!

Room Tip: Splash out and stay in one of the Garden Rooms, it is worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We Spent 3 nights here thoroughly enjoyed.We had 2 interconnected rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food had limited variety as we are totally vegetarians and the staff were helpful and friendly. The safari arranged at the Hluhluwe reserve was amazing, with a friendly and knowledgeable ranger (hotel based). We were also lucky to see a group of 45-50 Elephants. Truly memorable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka_Nitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Alka_Nitin,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Ghost Mountain Inn.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had such a great Safari experience. Always very special to see huge herds of elephant. Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent two nights here as part of a small-group tour and thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was good (especially the breakfasts) and the staff were helpful and friendly (Sean went out of his way to help). The safari arranged at the Hluhluwe reserve was amazing, with a friendly and knowledgeable ranger (hotel based). We were also lucky enough to experience an open air concert by an amazing choir, under the stars in the hotel grounds. Truly memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked a night at Ghost Mountain Inn to celebrate our anniversary.
We loved the area, the hotel's public areas were neat and looked newly refurbished. The housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and welcoming, variety on the buffet was average for both Dinner and Breakfast.
We stayed in Room 29, the carpet and base of the bed were stained with dirt. We found pubic hairs in the bathroom, the silicon had mould around the bath and the rooms are a bit dated. Our TV didn't work and when we reported this the manager came said he needed to replace the cable and never came back, we asked reception if we could move and we were told no even though the hotel was not full. Prices advertised for drinks in the menu were not updated, at least we got an apology from the barman. We will not stay at Ghost Mountain Inn again with all of the other options in the area we feel that they are geared towards tour groups and business travelers not really interested in making use of the facilities on offer. We booked the hotel to celebrate our anniversary and I feel they felt short delivering on the basics.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFourie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear JFourie106,

Thankyou for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoy the area and our public areas. Our staff are certainly very special and are renown for their friendly Zululand hospitality. Many have been part of the team at Ghost Mountain for over 25 years and are certainly our secret ingredient. I am terribly sorry and disappointed to hear that your room wasn't inspected properly. If it had been you would most certainly have had a much better experience. Your review has been discussed at length with all concerned and we have made changes to our operating procedures to try to ensure that it doesn't happen again. I believe that our General Manager has been in contact with you and you will hopefully be returning. Hopefully for a bit longer so that you have time to go for a boat trip on Lake Jozini, a game drive in Mkhuze game reserve or romantic sundowners on top of the Lebombo Mountains. Or maybe a luxurious organic Terres d'Afrique body treatments in our Spa.

Best wishes,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here at the recommendation of friends and it was a lovely place to stopover on the way to Kruger. The room was pleasant and the meals good and they had a spa and a gym and nice pool. Rooms were clean and seemed to be a popular place for tourists. The staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
13.4 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
8.1 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
21.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 34 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
13.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
7.0 mi away
Mavela Game Lodge
Mavela Game Lodge
#1 of 7 in Mkuze
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghost Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Mountain Inn

Property: Ghost Mountain Inn
Address: Fish Eagle Road, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghost Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the legendary Ghost Mountain lies the privately owned 4 Star Ghost Mountain Inn, a perfect setting for taking time out to relax and experience the charms of Africa in comfort and style. This intimate and beautiful hotel is in the heart of South Africa's Zulu Kingdom and is the ideal location from which to explore the array of wildlife and coastal reserves in northern KwaZulu Natal. Relax in one of tastefully appointed, en suite bedrooms or take in the golden African sunset from your very own garden patio. The Inn provides good food and friendly service either in the air conditioned restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the expansive grounds and indigenous gardens. Nature enthusiasts will appreciate the abundance of wildlife and the scenic splendours of this rich and diverse region, either as a self-drive or In the company of Ghost Mountain Safaris' knowledgeable rangers. Safari offerings include game drives and hikes in Mkhuze and Hluhluwe game reserves to see the big five, boat cruises and tiger fishing on Lake Jozini, Zulu cultural excursions and acclaimed birding in one of Southern Africa's top birding destinations with over 450 species. Escape and be pampered at the Ghost Mountain Spa. Offering a range of treatments utilising organic eco certified African skincare products, a steamroom, relaxation area with private plung pool, healthy lunches and an exercise facility for the more actively-inclined. For those travelling to southern Mozambique, or between Kruger Park, Swaziland and Durban, Ghost Mountain Inn makes an excellent stopover or memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ghost Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghost Mountain Hotel Mkuze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing