We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karkloof Safari Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

KZN should be very proud of this gem! I was blown away by the spaciousness of the rooms, the communal areas and the spa. The spa facilities are top notch with enough treatments rooms and therapists to cater for your every whim at any time (no booking required). This philosophy of timelessness carries through the hotel and applies to meals, game drives and activities. The all-inclusive rate is a winner. This is the ultimate getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeautyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

Karkloof Spa is the perfect destination for anyone in need of total pampering and relaxation, from the authentic Thai spa facility that allows you to visit for endless treatments at any time without appointment from 9a.m. to 8p.m, with its highly skilled therapists, to the superbly appointed suites, magnificent positioning and delicious food, this is the ultimate in exclusive world class luxury. a truly brilliant destination.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GautengTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My partner and I have just returned from an absolutely heavenly two night stay at Karkloof Spa.......a precious place where all of the stresses of everyday life fade way within minutes.
From the moment we arrived we were spoilt. The staff are absolutely amazing and attentative to your every need. They made our stay very special.
The lodge itself is beautiful and the Villa's are breathtaking, with the most amazing views.
The Spa is a very special place and the treatments are excellent. We left feeling completely relaxed and stress free. I would recommned all the treatments as there was not one we had which was not exceptional.
The food is beautifully prepared and presented and always offers an exciting blend of flavours and textures which are both mouthwatering and healthy - what a wonderful combination.
The game drive is a must. Our guide was wonderfully informative and we saw an abundance of animals.
This is a beautiful place. It is five star without a doubt in every aspect.
As I said, "Our New Favourite Place"

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharliePmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

It really is such a rare and wonderful feeling to be able to do as you like, when you like. I would recommend anyone in need of total relaxation, pampering and reminding of how being immersed in nature cleanses the soul and clears the mind, to head to Karkloof for at least 3 nights. The staff are fantastic - from the warm greeting by Lawrence on arrival, to the magically therapeutic hands of the Thai masseuses. Fred (the owner) has travelled the world and brought back to South Africa all the best bits from hotels around the world. He has created the 'ultimate spa retreat; and I am delighted that I was able to kick start my January detox in such luxury. Thank you Fred, Nicky, Laurike and team.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Safari_girl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed there for 5 nights for our honeymoon.

They had a surprise for us on the first and last night which added a really nice touch to our stay.

The surroundings were beautiful. With buck and warthogs walking around on the lodge premises.

From our room we had a view of the Karkloof Valley in front of us. As a result, sitting on our private decking we spotted monkeys, Giraffe, Buffalo, wildebeest, Yellow billed kite (and other birds), Zebra, Eland and Nyala (some in the distance and some nearby).

Although there are no elephants and no big predators they have pretty much everything else. The game drives are one on one and unlimited and at any time. The knowledge of the game rangers was good. We had many interesting encounters with beautiful animals. The guided walk was also quite nice.

The rooms were luxurious and spacious with beautiful bathrooms looking out into the valley. Massive beds and great furniture. They also have room safe which is nice. The rooms are well stocked with everything you would need. Basically, all you need to pack is your clothes and toothbrush.

The lodge was also luxurious with numerous fire places, lounges, a bar, library, wine cellar and dining area. The outside decking is ideal for breakfasts & lunches.
The service was excellent.

We were able to eat when and where ever we wanted. Whether that was having lunch or a picnic on a game drive, on our private decking (in our rooms) or at the lodge.

The staff was very accommodating and helpful; our rooms were neatened and cleaned at least twice daily, with all the consumables replenished (awesome choice of different teas, coffee and snacks).

Most surprising of all the minibar in our room was very reasonably priced and well stocked. Usually they are an absolute rip off but not in this case.

The food was excellent. Four course meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They were very accommodating to our tastes. They even had a raw (uncooked vegetarian) option which I have only ever seen in London. The wines were also really good.

The spa facilities were excellent and the staff are really good at their jobs. It was very relaxing and I found myself falling asleep during a few the massages while listening to the frogs croaking away outside. If it were not my honeymoon I would not have spent so much on spa treatments as it can end up becoming quite expensive. But it was a wonderful experience and worth it.

In summary: You might at first think the accommodation is expensive, but you most certainly get what you pay for. Staying at such a luxurious place was certainly a first for me. It is a fairly quiet environment, so don’t go there if you want to have a massive party. It is ideal for couples & honeymooners who want privacy, luxury and relaxation. I would highly recommend Karkloof Spa.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Wow, what a trip. The staff where exceptional every need was met before you had to ask. The game drives where so informative we learnt so much. Then the Spa what can i say the Thai ladies are brilliant, one feels healed and rejuvinated. The thing that struck me the most was the timelessness of everything, the staff work on your time there is no set meal times, game drives etc. You do what you what when you want to do it. That is something i have never experienced before. The lodge feels more like a luxurious home than a hotel, the attention for detail with everything is amazing. To Fred and His Team you are unbelievable, well done and i will certainly be back often.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This must rate as South Africa's ultimate escape. Unlimited spa treatments by the finest Thai therapists on the continent, combined with a chance to ogle rhino and buffalo at ultra-close range, and walk or drive through a magnificent natural sanctuary. Dining is exceptional, with raw options at every meal, and a kitchen that works to your schedule rather than the other way around. In fact, that's the star ingredient at the retreat...the fact that there is absolutely no schedule, no routine, no adherence to any time-based regime (other than the length of each individual spa treatment, of course). I though the mattresses at Cape Town's One&Only were amazing, but the beds at Karkloof really take the cake...not to mention the extraordinary view across the spectacular Karkloof Valley from my big balcony (I was in villa number 5). They've managed to get everything just so perfectly correct... Our entire hospitality industry should look here to see how it should be done... A remarkable place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
7.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
252 reviews
17.9 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
125 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Ascot Bush Lodge
Ascot Bush Lodge
#3 of 33 in Pietermaritzburg
174 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ukuthula Lodge
Ukuthula Lodge
#2 of 33 in Pietermaritzburg
140 reviews
10 mi away
No photo provided
A Garden Suite
#21 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karkloof Safari Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkloof Safari Spa

Address: Otto's Bluff Road, Pietermaritzburg 3231, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range: £448 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karkloof Safari Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the cinematic splendor of the Karkloof Valley, this modern and contemporary wellness and wildlife retreat is enhanced with the big heart of African sensibility. Karkloof Safari Villas offers a selection of supreme secluded lodges complimented by the finest cuisine and impeccable international standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karkloof Safari Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karkloof Hotel Pietermaritzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing