We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karkloof Safari Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thank you Karkloof for the amazing weekend and spoil it was worth every cent. Had lovely spa treatments a great game drive with picnic in the bush and delishious food. Staff are warm and tentative and nothing is to much trouble. and we will definately be back!!! Judy

Room Tip: Villa 3 has an amazing view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 202judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This property is easy to get to being located near Pietermaritzburg in KZN. Once you find it, it feels like you start to slowly exhale and relax. Everything is orientated around making sure that you simply step off from the world and wind down. The central area for meals is beautifully done with the correct balance of style and comfort. The staff are ready to cater to your every need and everytime you look up you are met by Sandra's welcoming smile. Sandra made sure that we not only were looked after, but also entertained. We loved chatting to her and David at the bar every evening. Our rooms were quite simply magnificent. We had a room and a lovely lounge and a fantastic bathroom and an awesome terrace. Walking to the rooms was great fun on the walkways as you passed wildlife every time - nyala's.......warthogs ...etc. This place is different from other safari lodges in that you make your own schedule. There are no set times for game drives - you have your own dedicated game ranger at your beck and call. We called on our wonderful ranger Kenny to do a walk on the reserve the first night and on the second night a drive and a picnic. The reserve has no wild cats or elephants which means you can walk and also means that the trees are all in one piece and beautiful. We loved our walk with Kenny. Our drive on the second night had a bit of an adrenaline rush as the rhino took out the front tire of the land rover! Our rescue was well handled by Kenny who remained calm throughout. One of the biggest drawcards of the place is the amazing spa. They have 7 full time thai ladies who are ready to look after you at any time of the day or night. The reason for the high staff ratio is to make sure that whenever you feel like a treatment you can be immediately looked after. The spa is magnificent and is built on top of a hill in a separate building. It boasts wonderful jacuzzi pools, floatation areas, its own little restaurant serving wonderful salads and a large menu of treatments to cater to all your wishes. We spent two days in the spa working our way through the menu and can both attest to the fact that it helped release a years worth of stress. We were pampered, prodded, massaged and destressed. The ladies were amazing. Ok - this is going on a bit - but I do need to mention that the food was fantastic! They have a menu each day so you have a good range of choice. In addition there is always a wonderfully creative raw food option on the menu. The chefs are also completely flexible at meeting your needs if you wish to make changes or increase or decrease portion sizes. Overall - quite simply an amazing experience. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammycapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Has anyone ever told you on holiday do what you want, whenever you want and wherever you want?

Karkloof Safari Spa does exactly that. I had visited with my wife and one and half year old child( they don't normally accept children below a certain age but since I was in South Africa for a month, they made an exception).

One can check in at 8 am on day 1 and check out at 8 pm on day 2....that makes it a 36 hour stay unlike any other.

Location: 20 minutes drive from Pietermaritzburg Airport or 1 hour from Durban's King Shaka International Airport. Set upon a hill, surrounded by 3 river valleys, teeming with wildlife!

The accommodation: 16 well appointed villas with bath, shower, large beds, sofas and a private deck overlooking the valley. All in room facilities including well stocked "free" mini bar, Nespresso machines etc etc.

The Experience: Eat whenever you want, go on safari whenever you want and visit the spa anytime and as many times as you want. No restrictions...but you need to give some notice for them to prepare. This is all included in the price!

The Food: Stunning South African Food. In tune with their spa hence you find a lot of dishes based on their detox programme, however having said that,you can simply ask for junk food as well!
You can eat any meal anytime you want and wherever you want ( in your room, on the deck, in the dining room, in the spa or even on safari)...again no extra charge but needs reasonable amount of time to prepare.

The Safari: No claims on the big five. They have a lots of general game which are not afraid of human interaction. Nyalas and warthogs amble across the lawns around the villas, the other game is kept out by a discreet electric fence. Loads of Giraffe, Zebra, rhinos,hippos etc. Game drive vehicles are well appointed and the guides very knowledgeable. They even provided a car seat for our baby so that he could go out on the game drive with us.

The Spa: The spa is open till the last guest leaves! Multiple treatment rooms with therapies ranging from foot massages to full body, from Tai Chi to Yoga, different types of pools such as flotation and Turkish baths.

Overall a stunning experience and amazing staff. They never say no to anything...and always deliver.

Value for money for sure.

Put together what you get and what you pay against, what you get and what you WOULD have paid elsewhere... Karkloof Safari Spa comes out the winner...

I would go back...again and again and then yet again.

Room Tip: As mentioned all rooms are well appointed but 13 and 14 are set aside on top of the hill for honeymo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

It follows the concept of timelessness . They don't say no to anything you want. Absolute luxury, the best spa treatments, and service is fabulous, rooms are spacious. I woke up and saw antelopes outside my room

It's beautiful to be here.
It's a honeymooners delight

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpanjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Karkloof Spa is located on 3,500 ha of scenic bushveld and forests of which our former family farm was part hence the title. Fred Wörner, the owner, has done an amazing job of looking after and improving the 3 valley's under his ownership. Seeing rhino (both black and white), hippo, buffalo and so many jackal's was a dream fulfilled.

However any quality experience needs to stand on many equal legs including, friendly staff, quality food, special accommodation, spectacular setting, world class spa and safari experience. Achieving this collective balance is where the magic happens and Karkloof Spa achieves this elusive balance.

The staff across all aspects of the experience are exceptional, friendly and interesting and interested. I have no hesitation in endorsing every aspect of our experience over the 3 nights we enjoyed. Well done to the team.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1 but from what I could see all rooms are specifically sited for great views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinLeoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were fortunate enough to spend our honeymoon at Karkloof during April. I cannot think of a more magical venue and everything was more than we could have imagined:
- exceptional service
- wonderful food
- luxurious spa facility and treatments
- relaxing game drives
- world class suite

Karkloof is truly one of a kind, with attention given to every small detail. Karkloof oozes understated luxury, and every aspect of the experience is of the highest quality. We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Karkloof and cannot wait to return. It is certainly a memory that we will cherish, and a venue that I can not recommend highly enough.

A big thank you to Fred and his wonderful team.
Derik and Sanet Coetzer

Room Tip: Make sure who check-in early and check-out late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerikCoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband surprised me with a weekend to the Karkloof Safari Spa as a birthday treat.What a weekeend of sheer luxury and indulgence! We experienced 3 days of heaven. The venue and accomodation was awesome , the service was unparalleled and the food and spa facilities were outstanding. We experienced total relaxation in an exclusive and very private enviroment. The Spa facilities, the game drives with our own ranger and the gentle polite service from the lodge staff all lived up to the 5 star award.Free to enjoy all this luxury at one's own pace makes this destination an ideal escape from the frantic pace of daily living. This is truly a secret gem in Kwazulu Natal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHaug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
18.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
212 reviews
17.9 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
7.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ukuthula Lodge
Ukuthula Lodge
#1 of 31 in Pietermaritzburg
134 reviews
13.0 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
12.6 mi away
Ascot Bush Lodge
Ascot Bush Lodge
#3 of 31 in Pietermaritzburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karkloof Safari Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkloof Safari Spa

Address: Otto's Bluff Road, Pietermaritzburg 3231, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range: £433 - £1,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the cinematic splendor of the Karkloof Valley, this modern and contemporary wellness and wildlife retreat is enhanced with the big heart of African sensibility. Karkloof Safari Spa offers a selection of supreme secluded lodges complimented by the finest cuisine and impeccable international standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karkloof Safari Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karkloof Hotel Pietermaritzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing