We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hideaway”
Review of Brevisbrook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brevisbrook
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Generous and giving hosts Dave and Normaine went out of their way to help us get the most from our short three days in the Pietermaritzburg region; Dave even gave us a guided tour of the town centre in his car, and a lift to the local Botanical Gardens :)

The house / accommodation is a once-private residence expanded some 20 years ago to make a cute five-apartment B&B - all with en-suites and living areas. The grounds are secluded and somewhat of a beauty spot - including a wonderful little brook / stream with a picnic table beside. With regards to a previous commenter remarking on the 'old fashioned' décor; it is a little twee but personally my wife and I love this kind of b&b - unpretentious and authentic. The cook and cleaner Lillian serves us extremely tasty breakfasts every morning, and we found our room tidy and clean every day.

Would heartily recommend a stay here. Ironically because Pietermaritzburg isn't exactly much of a tourist spot, Brevisbrook's main custom are professionals on their way somewhere else - but you could spend a week chilling out in this quiet and pretty little base. Look out for the cheeky monkeys that come sometimes during the day - harmless and they don't get too close, but a treat to see them scurrying along the branches. Thanks again for your hospitality Dave and Normaine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Hidden behind the high security gates is an elegant private home that is this B&B. The property is lovingly maintained and is lush with green foliage and flowers and is even home to a babbling creek hidden behind and below the main house. Hosts Dave and Normaine truly understand the art of hospitality. Upon arrival we were welcomed with fresh coffee and biscuits which we savoured on our patio enjoying by the welcoming songs of the birds and the overall serenity of the home. Breakfast was a full English breakfast plus plus plus! Everything is spotlessly maintained inside and out. Truly a gem.As travel agents highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STSMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at Brevisbrook for two nights in April 2011. The owners Dave and Normaine Short were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful and the breakfasts are superb. The two rooms we stayed in were, however, rather disappointing.

Firstly the furniture in the rooms are all very old and the beds, mattresses and bathrooms in particular are in need of an upgrade. The sheets were clean but unfortunately I found a live spider in between the sheets when I opened them on the first night so I was a bit wary.

We also found a number of unidentifiable bugs in our rooms. These had small bodies with feelers (cockroaches perhaps?) In addition there was a dead fishmoth in my shower on the first night which was still there on the second night, which indicated that the shower hadn't been cleaned. There was also dirt in the toilet which hadn't been cleaned though I pointed this out to the cleaner

As we were unhappy the owners kindly agreed that we could check out early and remained helpful and friendly which was a great credit to them.

All in all I would say that we chose the wrong bed and breakfast. We are accustomed to modern comforts and a high standard of hygiene and this was sadly lacking in the rooms we stayed in.

(Note that we were charged R700 per room per night and that the modern four-star hotel in Scottsville which we moved to charged R780 per room per night.)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmainejoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I stayed in Brevisbrook Guesthouse in May. It has a fantastic location in the hills 6 km above Pietermaritzburg. I arrived late as my taxi driver was unable to find Brevisbrook so check this with your taxi driver beforehand. My bedroom was very spacious with starched white bed linen, an ensuite bathroom and a separate entrance which lead onto the garden. The surrounding gardens were superb, the vegetation was lush and imaginative. Brevisbrook is located on a quiet country road. The owners were very friendly.

The big bonus was the free traditional South African breakfast. All in all it was superb value and a real pleasure to visit. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoulsalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

This bed & breakfast is situated in a lovely garden setting. Normaine has foreseen absolutely *every* thing a traveller might need. The rooms are spotless, bright and comfortable. Normaine, Dave and the staff bend over backwards to help in any way possible. Brevisbrook is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Sue_Nami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
4.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
235 reviews
3.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Matt's Rest B&B and Self Catering
Matt's Rest B&B and Self Caterin...
#12 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
42 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
102 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brevisbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brevisbrook

Property: Brevisbrook
Address: 28 Waverleydale Road | Boughton, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brevisbrook 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brevisbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing