We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Only stayed here 1 night during a recent work trip. We arrived late evening and left early morning and I havent actually left the hotel so not sure about the surroundings. The hotel was nice, clean, good size rooms. Buffet dinner was OK. Free wifi was slow and only 100 MBs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear mathelaci

Protea Hotels was happy to host you during your recent trip to South Africa. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Providing a fresh room for every GUEST is vital to ensure your comfort whilst staying with us. Should you visit us again, be sure to try a cappuccino made by one of our champion barista’s. The TEAM is committed to offering a superior GUEST experience and I will pass on your comments to them.

I apologise for the slow Wi-Fi connection. We understand the importance of connectivity whilst travelling and I will look into this immediately.

When you next visit Protea Hotel Hilton, maybe you will get a chance to view the Howick Falls or Midlands Meander.

Until next time we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    83
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
52
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel while exploring the KZN Midlands.It's a historical building that has been renovated.The ambiance is lovely and the rooms are pretty much average.
what i found to be most inconvenient was the separate bathroom and toilet, with the bedroom in between.This means having to walk from the toilet, through the bedroom to the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen, so that noise (which starts as early as 4.30 a.m.) does not di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Chester4_12

Protea Hotel Hilton is the perfect base from which to explore the Midlands and historical sites in the area. Thank you for staying with us during your exploration.

You are spot on when describing the hotel, which has been refurbished, as having an historical background. I am pleased that you enjoyed the ambience, but I apologise for your disappointment with the room configuration, we do have a few different room configurations, so on your next visit be sure to contact me personally and I can show you the different rooms. Due to the historical nature of the building, we have kept to the original specs to maintain its character on some of the original rooms.

Your feedback is valuable to our on-going search for excellence and we appreciate it.

Please feel free to contact me prior to your next visit to ensure that we can advise on the best room to suit your needs at gm@proteahilton.co.za.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spend two nights 29 30th March. we were pleased with the service and the decor.The staff were helpful and and the manager also very attentive.It had a quaint old world feel.The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom with a separate shower is always an added bonus.The breakfast was good for 4 star standard.We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not take a room that is street facing.The passing traffic can be annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intuitive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear intuitive99

Thank you very much for posting such fantastic news regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Hilton.

We strive for service excellence and are glad that we were able to meet your expectations.

With our refurbishment having recently taken place, we are proud of our establishment and happy that you enjoyed your room!

Thank you for the comments regarding the road, many people request those rooms for the beautiful view of the mountains, but as some people are light sleepers we can advise against these rooms. Comments and feedback like this help us keep on top of all GUESTS’ needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Hilton in the near future.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I spend a lot of time in hotels for work - so I might be a bit blasé when it comes to hotels.
But the Hilton and indeed the entire staff from the gm to the reception staff charmed their way into my hart.

The old worldly interiors that could so easily become austere makes for a cosy setting.
One feels like you have stepped into another world - filled with luxury and peace

The food and service was also excellent.
You do not often receive the above mentioned faster than expected so I was totally blown away

I will definitely be back for a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Susan B

What a very special review! Adding a personal touch to everything we do helps us to create the warm and friendly environment that you experienced during your stay.

The classic interior does add a sense of charm to the atmosphere and I am so happy that you felt cozy.

As far as the food and service goes, I will be congratulating the TEAM on their efforts and continuous desire to achieve excellence. We do our best to exceed expectations and are thrilled that you were blown away by the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed fir one night very central and for a business stay for night or two great value even better with a protea card ;) Location is great and setting aswell also close to city centre and malls and vatious restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reywoeke4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Reywoeke4u

Thank you so much for the lovely review and for sharing your feedback on what we have to offer on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your valuable comments about the variety of facilities the hotel, and surrounding areas, has to offer. In addition to the unique location near the CBD and restaurants, one can visit the Midlands Meander with the entire family.

Being a Prokard member definitely has benefits when staying with us, whether a discount on accommodation or when eating in the restaurant, we do our best to provide benefits to our GUESTS. Thank you for your support of this program.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We were on a weeks trip around KZN this was definately the best hotel we stayed at. The rooms are wonderful with the decor in keeping with the properties heritage. The service was friendly and efficient. We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomber08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hi Bomber08

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely comment.

It is truly motivating when STAFF has made such an effort to lift standards and it is seen and acknowledged by the GUEST.

We are proud of this beautiful hotel and the rich heritage that comes with it. The revamp aimed to maintain the heritage and give a finishing touch of elegance.

Your comments are valued and appreciated and the TEAM looks forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel for a one night stop over as part of a few days trip. It was the best of the hotels we stayed at. The rooms are tastefully decorated and a wonderful shower. All staff were friendly and helpful. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomber08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hi Bomber08

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely comment.

It is truly motivating when STAFF has made such an effort to lift standards and it is seen and acknowledged by the GUEST.

We are proud of this beautiful hotel and the rich heritage that comes with it. The revamp aimed to maintain the heritage and give a finishing touch of elegance.

Your comments are valued and appreciated and the TEAM looks forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
8.8 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
6.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 61 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
7.1 mi away
Karkloof Safari Spa
Karkloof Safari Spa
#2 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Address: 1 Hilton Avenue,, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Hilton)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hilton - Opulent Elegance in the heart of the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this four star architectural show piece with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must stay for a meandering country charm seeker. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel boasts all the modern amenities expected from holiday-makers to businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. When bringing the family don’t forget your tennis rackets. Our on-site tennis court offers a great opportunity for the whole family to have some fun. Win or lose, a quick dip in the pool will calm everyone down and clear the air. Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner; a visit to our very own Ellingtons Restaurant offers a mouth-watering choice of local cuisine fit for Royalty. We also offer a private dining area for those special occasions or when entertaining clients. Don’t forget about our Cocktail Lounge that is ready to welcome you for pre or post dinner drinks. So for business or pleasure, Protea Hotel Hilton will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing