We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crappy bathroom”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had to request towels 3 times and it took around 40 minutes for them to be brought to me.
No hot water - luke warm which also took ages to arrive.
Toilet did not flush !!! At all…
Sorry but I will not stay here again, nor will I recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your time in posting this review. I am very sorry that you did not have the experience at Redlands that we strive to give all our guests. There was no excuse for towels not being brought up to the room immediately and I can only apologize for this.

Plumbing issues can affect any of us at any time. The flushing mechanism did break and we have replaced it. I understand that this was brought to our attention on check out. If this is not the case, please contact me directly (gm@redlandshotel.co.za) as an upgrade or room swop should have been offered.

The main hotel building has a 2000 l boiler which has visual and audible alarms should the temperature drop below a certain thresh hold. We operate this on heat pump system to conserve energy and as per Eskom guidelines, the temperature is set at 60 degrees C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    47
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
27
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work for 3 nights in March. Was pleased to arrive early and allowed to check in early as well as be upgraded to a Library suite for no additional charge. The rooms are good, but the tv channels have very poor signal which could definitely be improved. The wifi worked well and the breakfast and dinner was enjoyable. Another positive on the location is that there are nice running routes around the hotel. I would go back if doing business in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Serg_Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Peaceful setting and easily accessible. Attentive and friendly staff. Clean, pleasant and spacious rooms. Great food and whisky selection. Wi-fi access throughout the hotel was a bonus. Will use this hotel next time I am in PMB without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night at Redlands as a stop over en-route to Durban. The hotel is conveniently located on the outskirts of Pietermaritzburg. Our room was quite simple but nicely decorated and well kept, overlooking the pool. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and the food was quite good. Not too pricey and a good option for a business break/short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank London_girl_8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As a repeat customer to Redlands I have not yet had anything to complain about. The service, food and rooms are excellent as is the setting and location.
The staff are always friendly and eager to assist.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NAPZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magaliesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Staying at The Redlands is always a treat! Staff are friendly, rooms are comfortable and spacious and the hotel is conveniently situated near to many of the excellent Natal schools. We also thoroughly enjoyed a lovely dinner in the restaurant that evening! The curry and lamb shank were both excellent! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked for dinner in Redlands restaurant on the 19th December for Michael's birthday. We were handled with the utmost care by Nomusa (reception) and Hazel (restaurant) & the food was beautiful. Lovely tranquil setting. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
232 reviews
3.6 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
13 reviews
1.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#2 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
193 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Property: Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 George Mac Farlane Lane | Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redlands Hotel and Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and Club Room are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Redlands Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing