We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilawu Boutique Hotel
Reviewed 20 May 2014

although first impressions can be deceiving at first it looked lovely and clean. staff friendly and helpful.
However on closer look. Towels were old and stained with holes. on even closer look "slightly imperfect" label explains holes but not stain marks, and hair left from previous user.
Food was plenty and sometimes good but sometimes just been kept hot for to long. restaurant staff again was friendly and well trained.
Trolley bins right outside a bedroom is asking for bugs, as i encountered cockroaches in fridge cupboard.
With a little more attention to details this establishment can be really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

excellent place will recommend to anyone, everything neat and tidy,very helpful and efficient staff. Rooms up to standard. Very neat garden and well lit up area. Parking is ample and very safe. Centrally based , breakfast a must(divine),i will defnatly use this place again for family events in the area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rajeen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

my husband and sisters stayed here for 4days, it was unfortunate that we had already booked and paid our accomodation here. I must say the rooms were neat and the food "okay", however, there are number of things that were not working. the first night the shower was blogged, the next morning there was no hot/warm water in the showers, this was for the entire time we were there. Lastly, we missed our favourite shows on TV as the DSTV was not working and we were told the technician will be coming in the following week :0( as i feel we should have been told about this before we even booked.

This place could really be nice, if it was well maintained, ie. paint/wipe clean your walls, remove dirty linen in your bedroom-cupboards, organise stands in your bathroom it's such an inconvinience to use your bathrooms, check your aircons in the bathroooms & bedrooms regularly as Pietermaritzburg is such a humid place to have a non-working aircon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The little hotel exceeds ones expectations on several levels. 1) Very well appointed entrance and rooms. 2) Breakfast and dinner included in the room rate. 3) Friendly helpful staff.

I stayed for two evenings and found the hotel a fresh breeze of air.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and save on your next vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VGV001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

my husband and i stayed at ilawu B&B during our december break, this place exceeded our expectation the room where very neat and cosy, breakfast was lovely, staff was friendly, safe and secure parking..the staff here really make this place what it is they are ever ready to go the extra mile to make the guest comfortable

this is now 1 of my favourite places to stay thank you ilawu

Room Tip: this is a 7 room establishment all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMNdurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Ilawu Hotel and Lodges is situated in a city called Pietermaritzburg in Kwazulu Natal in South Africa, they are a boutique hotel next to the Botanical Gardens in Maritzburg. Their hotel has perfect views of the Botanical gardens and thier service is exceptional, They realy exceded my expectations on the place and the city in general. Thank You guys keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Request a complimentary shuttle, It improves the value of ur stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mxolisi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Firstly we booked for New England Road, but make sure this is where you going as there is another branch in Morcom Road Prestbury. The opposite side of town. Which is where we had to stay. Secondly we were on the ground floor & people entering the establishment were very noisy together with the reception staff. The person on duty starts to set breakfast tables at about 2am, loud enough to wake all of the ground floor guests. The gate was broken so cars leaving the premises had to hoot, just to add to the noise. It was clean & staff were friendly, but I will not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RENTIAVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#6 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gateside Guesthouse
Gateside Guesthouse
#9 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
28 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilawu Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilawu Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Morcom Road | Prestbury, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilawu Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iLawu Boutique Hotel is located in the tranquil suburb of Prestbury only 10 minutes away from the Pietermaritzburg CBD. The hotel has a penthouse that can be used as a conference facility for your business needs . The hotel is in close proximity to the Botanical Gardens, the tranquil surroundings of the suburb of Prestbury provides for privacy as the hotel boasts 22 rooms to ensure tranquillity and exclusivity. The hotel also has luxury studio apartments. These are convenient, affordable open plan modern living. They are ideal for both short and long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ilawu Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing