We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comrades marathon weekend 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Comrades marathon weekend 2014”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Morag and Gordon are wonderful warm hosts who went out of their way to make our stay and race one that will never be forgotten. Rooms are clean, spacious and private. Always feel welcome here. We will be back.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
66
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The owner is just like everyone says, very friendly and helpful. The B&B is located on a quiet street. We had a twin room which is very spacious and well equipped. The beds are comfortable and the place is clean. The rates are also extremely reasonable. Can't ask for more.

Our host thought of everything and there were even hot water bottles in the closet in case you really feel cold. There is a folder in the room that details some history of the town and also restaurants close by.

The driveway looks a bit steep but it just looks worse than it really is. Parking space available for all rooms and no problem there.

We had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spacious rooms, clean and well appointed. Great location, just outside of town. Pretty grounds. Great breakfasts, accommodating of any needs. The owners are just lovely, very helpful, welcoming, and knowledgeable. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed over in January, and found Babbling Brook to be great value for money. The small touches were best - lovely breakfast; beautiful bathroom, and great, lavender-scented toiletries.

The surrounding area is a typical suburban setting - not much to look at; but once you are in the property or in your room, its easy to forget that you aren't actually in the countryside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Ansolutley everything you want in a BnB when it comes to relaxing! Thanks for the great stay!! Our ground floor room was extremely spacious even with our king size bed. Everything was clean and neat, including our bathroom that was built for royalty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. Thanks to the staff of Babbling Brook. The place is clean, the room is spacious, and staff is helpful. Real value for money. I will definitely stay there again if I go to Pietermaritzburg.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Herman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We found this b&b by chance whilst surfing the net....and all we can say is 'wow'. The tranquil and beautiful setting, finishing touches, attention to detail and friendliness of our hosts made it a place we will definitely return to...we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larryandmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.0 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.1 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#2 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gateside Guesthouse
Gateside Guesthouse
#9 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast

Property: Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Address: 42 Bellevue Road | Prestbury, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing