We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richards Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Bath tub and shower cubicle in en-suite bathroom with a lovely shower head and was clean. Airconditioning in room.Food at Vigour and Verve was lovely and well prepared. Waiter service poor. I got up well rested and ready for the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bashni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Bashni A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg! I am pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your comment regarding the service in Vigour and Verve has been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg!

Warmest regards from the TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    43
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
21
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

the hotel was perfect, the staff at the reception accepted us warmly though we came after 19h00 but we had a great stay... may i suggest the hotel provide a suitable breakfast venue esp for the SS hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nompumelelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nompumelelo M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg!

Warmest regards from the TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed for 5 nights .
Received poor service and bad food

Management made an attempt to rectify this ,However it was too little too late
Guests are restricted to eat at V & V restaurant and no longer at John Dorys
Hotel restaurant has a limited menu and few are unavailable due to lack of supplies .


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Krishnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Krishnie M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg. Our sincere apologies that Vigour and Verve was not able to deliver the required level of service to you during your stay with us. Please be assured that all necessary measures have been taken to ensure this does not happen again.

Your feedback is valuable to us. We hope to welcome you back to Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

we received a warm welcome. the room was cosy, warm and the furniture is of highest quality. Teas and coffees nicely placed, but sugar needs to be added - 6 is not enough for the afternoon and morning tea. and the milk also is very limited. Linen is like you in heaven. shower and and bath tub with everything needed in bathroom, even two facecloth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with us was a pleasant and comfortable one. It was truly a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from the Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfect location to stay the night before the Comrades Marathon. Within walking distance to the registration and 2.8km from the start of the race. Rooms are very comfortable and beds are fantastic for a good nights sleep. In room dining was delish and so was John Dory's restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the hotel to be convenient.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from the Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fantastic stay with great hospitality. We were treated like royalty.
Always helpful and cheerful staff to attend to all our needs.
The rooms were immaculate and the beds with bedding complete comfort.
Its where we go to recharge our MOJO




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg. We are delighted to hear that our staff took such good care of you! It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ground floor parking lifts need to be clear of cleaning trolleys etc. first impression when walking in.
Breakfast staff needs more training. Accomodation and Hotel facilities are excellent. Room standards are excellent. Should consider offering guest full DSTV packages or should be an option when checking in at additional charge. For a world class hotel, I think the reception should be built up more professionally rather than having a few desks stringed together - doesn't give it a good first impressions. Hotel should also consider offering a porter service - seen the trolley's in the reception area, but no porter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, General Manager at Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear S Sammy,

Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg! We appreciate your feedback. Your comments have been noted and will be acctioned accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg!

Warmest regards from the Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
7.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg

Property: Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
Address: 45 New England Road | Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg 3209, South Africa (Formerly Golden Horse Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg Boasting both a casino and a turf race course, Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg (previously known as the Golden Horse hotel) is the only hotel in Africa and one of a very few in the world that is a true punters' paradise. Situated in KwaZulu-Natal's capital city, Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg offers an exciting world of entertainment and gaming set against the rolling hills of the beautiful Natal Midlands. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Durban, home to some of South Africa's most spectacular beaches. A perfect destination for the leisure and business traveller, this upmarket hotel offers a world-class stay with unsurpassed hospitality. It has 96 spacious en-suite bedrooms all elegantly decorated to include plush furnishings, data lines for laptops, telephones, room safes and satellite TVs. With two versatile, state-of-the-art conference venues that can be modified into various configurations and cater for up to 500 delegates, Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg is also a distinguished conferences and special events hotel. And, with views over the race course, these facilities make a perfect setting for a classic wedding, social function, corporate banquet or a conference. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Horse Hotel Pietermaritzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing