We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unacceptable for a four star guest house.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pietermaritzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grace Guest House
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unacceptable for a four star guest house.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and I had a confirmed booking for one night (25 April 2013). We arrived at 16:30 after a six hour trip from Johannesburg. After 50 minutes of many unanswered calls to both numbers, messages left, hooting outside the gate, pressing the doorbell in the street many times, we went away to find alternative accommodation. We were informed that the one phone number was re-routed to the other, WHICH WAS ON SILENT!. A four star Guest House???

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

A great hostel with nice and clean rooms. I was on a business trip and was fortunate enough to get a room here. They are very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and I was able to rest very well, so I could perform my job. I would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourways, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Grace Guesthouse was very clean, tidy, and well appointed. The house is a lovely, old colonial style building with comfortable furnishings.
We stayed for one night, and Francina was very helpful in letting us in early to change for a church service, phoning us in the evening to check on our progress and waking up very early to see us off.
We didn't stay for breakfast, so I can't comment on the meals. But the kitchen is well stocked with tea and coffee (no Rooibos though?), an honesty bar/fridge and biscuits.

Just a tip - Mosa is great on email but a little muffled on the phone... Stick to email if you want to be absolutely clear on instructions. Francina is perfectly clear and good on the phone.

Room Tip: The front rooms face Howick road, which can be quite busy, but as it was raining and we arrived late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacie271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grace. Mosa was fantastic! The B&B was clean and well maintained. The service was excellent and the breakfast wonderful. I can really recommend staying at the Grace when you next visit Pietermaritzburg! Thanks Mosa for a wonderful two days.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is a small boutique hotel in a pretty part of town. There are 4 rooms in the house, the owner/manager lives nearby and the housekeeping staff lives in a small house on the back of the property. Service can be a bit hit and miss, as there isn't a full time attendant, so sometimes when you need something, there isn't anyone around to ask. But the house is beautiful and very well cared for.

We stayed during a world cup mountain bike race. We had to book accommodations before details of the race were released, and luckily it was just 5 minutes from the venue. I stayed at the house while my husband went off early to watch the races. The other guests had checked out as their events were finished, and nobody new was arriving that day. It was also a Sunday, so I expected a very quiet day for the staff. No such thing! Despite the house being impeccably clean to start with, 2 women spent the entire day cleaning again.

We had a small issue with the booking process, but we had problems booking pretty much everything in SA, it's just the way they operate.

I can't imagine that we'll ever be in the area again, but if we are, we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amberm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo'burg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2007

For those of you wishing to stay at this B&B - be warned. We didn't even have an opportunity to stay here as we were so rudely put off by the owner/manager.
I emailed the B&B to enquire on availability for one night's stay (for a wedding) 6 weeks in advance. I received a reply confirming availability, to which I responded with a request to secure the booking. No further email correspondence was received from the B&B at this point. After a few days, I decided to phone the B&B to confirm the booking. The very rude manager/owner then insisted that she had not received any correspondence to that effect, even once I forwarded her the sent email, and wasn't even apologetic now that the requested date was fully booked.
Amazingly, another friend also tried to book and was also very rudely put off. This is by no means how potential customers should be treated.
A B&B in a small town should not approach their business this way!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pietermaritzburg hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
5.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
A Garden Suite
#22 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
10.9 mi away
Karkloof Safari Spa
Karkloof Safari Spa
#1 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribe Caribe Lodge and Conference Center
Caribe Caribe Lodge and Conferen...
#17 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brevisbrook
Brevisbrook
#17 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Guest House

Property: The Grace Guest House
Address: 22 Howick Road | Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Pietermaritzbu...
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grace Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing