We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Richards Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Richards Bay Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Richards Bay
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and also utilized the conference venue for hosting a business dinner. Overall impression is a good level of satisfaction with the level of service delivery. There was a problem with the water supply to the hotel overnight, which caused a bit of inconvenience, but it was handled quite professionally. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with great harbour views. Breakfast is good, but not great in terms of variety, compared to some other hotel groups. Hotel is very conveniently located, as it is within walking distance of quite a few restaurants on the waterfront. Rates are a bit more expensive compared to others in either Richards Bay or Durban.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for one night before driving to our game lodge, the hotel is beautiful and has great potential. The service in the bar and restaurant are a bit slow, but we were ok with that, since we travel to the Carribean extensively.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

we arrived around 3pm only to find out that reservations didnt forward my booking to receptionist.After 15min we were able to check in and our room was in the ground floor and honestly the hotel is beautiful starting from the emtrance,reception area,dining hall and our room has been equiped with the fascilities for the disable and its user friendly for them.The furnisher inside is beautiful and stylish.Second day we moved to the 3rd floor room 323 and it was so beautiful with a bath and shower fascilities and all rooms have wi-fi.We didnt eat the breakfast cos i find it to be expensive so we went out and the nice thing about the hotel is next to the variaty of eating places.On sunday we checked out and i didnt take even a minute and i was out.To the management and staff thank you in advance and please do more training on the reception staff cos some of them are clueless when it comes the customer care.

Room Tip: for a better view choose 2nd and 3rd floor and if you a disable person feel free to take them along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We should have been prepared to expect very mediocre service and lack of management even before we set foot in the door. This being exemplified by the lack of response to emails sent to this Hotel and their main web site for the whole Protea chain concerning booking procedures, rates and general enquiries. Our party of 2 couples booked 2 twin rooms with sea views on our recent trip to SA. We arrived and got the welcome spiel ( all very trite ) and discovered both rooms were doubles. We contacted the reception desk to ask them to attend to it. After a constant flow of room housekeeping staff all in a state of confusion as to what to do about an hour later while we sat around like shags on a rock, some poor woman came in to change the bedding.
Then we discovered our miniscule fridge was not working , more flurry of phone calls with the usual lackadaisical approach and a steady stream of fix it people, none of whom knew what to do. Finally (after another hour has passed ) a replacement fridge was delivered, albeit begrudgingly as the supposedly we were told the only way to get a fridge is to book the deluxe rooms..Then comes the parking issue. On the main web site it says free parking ( we asked about this and the security aspect via email weeks before we arrived ... no reply ! ) so we asked why were we charged .It was only around R 35 - 40 but the principle of it was the issue, given thats its false advertising. The fee was dropped once we pointed out the inconsistency. The rooms are incredibly small but the waterfront view was nice, however it was a tad hard to see it as the windows were filthy. I am glad we only needed to stay 1 night. The management here needs to be improved not only at the grass roots level but also the customer email enquiry and booking service. All in all the way the Protea runs leaves a lot to be desired. Staff need to co -ordinated and supervised with a mind for quality control and customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stargaize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Checking in takes at least 20 minutes. You'll get your morning coffee after you've finished your breakfast from the crappy buffet. They've lost my clothes for the better part of a week the few times I've left laundry. Recently had my kindle stolen from my room. I've been told this is the best hotel in Richards Bay, so I think I'll opt for a B&B next week.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BustaDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel, this time I stayed for just 4 days and since it was close to my office this was the most preferred one by my office colleague.

I had a wonderful stay, which once again was spoilt by the food options at their restaurant. The breakfast spread is just awful and does not have much choices.

I did not had a warm welcome at the reception, the lady at the reception made me feel as to why I have choosen this hotel to stay... I got the feeling from her as it was most Stereotype welcome with a stern look and the way she spoke was not appreciated. Anyway I had just 4 days to spend.

I had three bad experince at this hotel, the in-room dinning tray was not picked from outside my door the whole night and then the next day when I reminded the restaurant manager, who was sorry and ensured to advise his staff to pick this tray that is lying outside since last night, to my surpise, after my breakfast I go to my room to find the tray is still there and not picked.

Secondly, my laundry when instructed to get it on hanger, was brought with shirts and pants folded in 3 folds.....

I had requested to keep my ice pack for my medicines to be kept in a freezer, and there was a instruction in place, and to my shock before checking out, when I asked for it, no one could find it and atlast the restaurant manager manged to search it and found it and to my surprise it was not in the freezer and ice packs was in water.....??

The best thing that this hotel provided me was with a mini fridge that is not a part of the room, only available for executive suits...???

The location of this hotel is excellent where you could walk down a little you have some good restaurants and that all rooms are facing beach / sea side.

Overall it was good stay, but if the hotel management could try and fix the food quality and choice of food it should work out for them.

Room Tip: No choice as all rooms faces the ocean and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Other than the fact that I was erroniously booked in a smoking room (which I had to change after complaining), I had a very nice 1 night stay at this lovely establishment. Enjoyed everything in this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVMthembu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richards Bay
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 9 in Richards Bay
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#6 of 9 in Richards Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#5 of 9 in Richards Bay
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#3 of 9 in Richards Bay
63 reviews
12 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Empangeni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Richards Bay Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Richards Bay Waterfront

Address: Corner of Pioneer & Bridgetown Road | Tuzigazi Waterfront, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Richards Bay
Price Range: £93 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Richards Bay Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it is style you want, then Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront is your only option. The hotel is situated in the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront in Richards Bay and caters for the executive traveller who is looking for something extra ordinary. The hotel has a prime location, the only hotel overlooking the waterfront in Richards Bay. The hotel boasts stylish standard rooms and 12 luxurious suites. The modern décor and personal touches in the rooms makes your stay away from home very comfortable. The rooms are very elegant and spacious and have en-suite bathrooms and king size beds. All rooms have magnificent views of the waterfront and bay area. The up-market, Ship to Shore Restaurant and its innovative, open plan design allows you to see into the kitchen while your meal is being prepared. The Ship to Shore serves a scrumptious full English breakfast and the a la carte menu is very upbeat. With a wide variety of meals to choose from, you are sure to find something that will be pleasing to the pallet. You can sit back and relax in the exclusive Admirals Cigar Lounge. Here you can puff on one of the machine rolled cigars that are on sale and enjoy your favourite premier brand drink. Unwind while sipping sundowners on the deck which overlooks the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront. The deck also has a crystal clear swimming pool and a seating pool. Kick your shoes off and enjoy your meal or drinks in the shallow waters of the seating pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Richards Bay Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing