We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richards Bay
Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you are in Richard's Bay and need this stay over, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is right on the waterfront with a boardwalk walking along the water with lots of restaurants to choose from. Our room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed our overnight stay while we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

If I'd ever go back to richardsbay that's certainly my first choice hotel. The location is lovely, there is a little board walk next to the hotel, rooms are spacious and very nicely renovated and neil and leticiar that did the check in were by far the most professional and friendliest check in team ever! Thanks a ton for this guys and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It is never a good start when the staff cannot find your reservation, therefore some of the negatives may be overstated. We liked the rooms which were comfortable and spacious, the bathroom was excellent. The view across the waterfront was very relaxing. Outdoor area for a sundowner was excellent.
However perhaps we were unlucky as there was number of Christmas parties on, the buffet was honed to a low quality compared to most food we have eaten in SA very poor.
The other major negative was the wifi relied on a voucher which took several attempts to obtain, not good for a hotel that relies on business people.
The staff were friendly and mostly helpful. The hotel could do a lot better.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent a night here, must say the hotel rooms are fabulous, spacious bathroom, desk etc. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, except for reservations when trying to make the booking who never called back!! Close to the Richardsbay waterfront, with a good selection of restaurants - great views of the ocean from your room. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Take a room on the uppermost floor, function rooms below that can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and also utilized the conference venue for hosting a business dinner. Overall impression is a good level of satisfaction with the level of service delivery. There was a problem with the water supply to the hotel overnight, which caused a bit of inconvenience, but it was handled quite professionally. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with great harbour views. Breakfast is good, but not great in terms of variety, compared to some other hotel groups. Hotel is very conveniently located, as it is within walking distance of quite a few restaurants on the waterfront. Rates are a bit more expensive compared to others in either Richards Bay or Durban.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for one night before driving to our game lodge, the hotel is beautiful and has great potential. The service in the bar and restaurant are a bit slow, but we were ok with that, since we travel to the Carribean extensively.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

we arrived around 3pm only to find out that reservations didnt forward my booking to receptionist.After 15min we were able to check in and our room was in the ground floor and honestly the hotel is beautiful starting from the emtrance,reception area,dining hall and our room has been equiped with the fascilities for the disable and its user friendly for them.The furnisher inside is beautiful and stylish.Second day we moved to the 3rd floor room 323 and it was so beautiful with a bath and shower fascilities and all rooms have wi-fi.We didnt eat the breakfast cos i find it to be expensive so we went out and the nice thing about the hotel is next to the variaty of eating places.On sunday we checked out and i didnt take even a minute and i was out.To the management and staff thank you in advance and please do more training on the reception staff cos some of them are clueless when it comes the customer care.

Room Tip: for a better view choose 2nd and 3rd floor and if you a disable person feel free to take them along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richards Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richards Bay
59 reviews
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront

Address: Corner of Pioneer & Bridgetown Road | Tuzigazi Waterfront, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richards Bay
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it is style you want, then Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront is your only option. The hotel is situated in the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront in Richards Bay and caters for the executive traveller who is looking for something extra ordinary. The hotel has a prime location, the only hotel overlooking the waterfront in Richards Bay. The hotel boasts stylish standard rooms and 12 luxurious suites. The modern décor and personal touches in the rooms makes your stay away from home very comfortable. The rooms are very elegant and spacious and have en-suite bathrooms and king size beds. All rooms have magnificent views of the waterfront and bay area. The up-market, Ship to Shore Restaurant and its innovative, open plan design allows you to see into the kitchen while your meal is being prepared. The Ship to Shore serves a scrumptious full English breakfast and the a la carte menu is very upbeat. With a wide variety of meals to choose from, you are sure to find something that will be pleasing to the pallet. You can sit back and relax in the exclusive Admirals Cigar Lounge. Here you can puff on one of the machine rolled cigars that are on sale and enjoy your favourite premier brand drink. Unwind while sipping sundowners on the deck which overlooks the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront. The deck also has a crystal clear swimming pool and a seating pool. Kick your shoes off and enjoy your meal or drinks in the shallow waters of the seating pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing