We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay in Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richards Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short stay in Waterfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed for three nights for business trip. Hotel is perfectly located and a sand beach. Staff is very friendly, especially Nadia helped me a lot with places nearby.

WiFi becomes a real trouble. for every 500 mb, you gotta get another password from hotel frontdesk. Middle of the night or early in the morning, you go down to frontdesk to have the voucher. Quite nonsense.

Food is good but there are a plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes just besides the hotel. Seafood is delicious and cheap.

On my check-out date, Saturday, on 08:00 I was awake with hammer noises and I was told that there is repair work. Saturday! 08:00! Unacceptable at all. No explanations were made and hotel manager just did not call me although it was promised to me when leaving the hotel.

This is still a good place to stay..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BahoBero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
22
2
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel as I was appalled at the ignorance and incompetence of the Front desk staff at the Protea hotel The Richards......what a refreshing change to have such pleasant and professional staff at the Protea Waterfront Hotel. A mention must go out to Miki, one of the Managers and also Nadia and Scelo the front desk associates who made my stay so memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and their manner and pleasantness was a credit to the Hoteliers Industry. The hotel itself was superb, excellent food excellent room in fact excellent all round. Highly recommended!!
Will definitely use this hotel as first choice on future visits to Richards Bay.

Paul

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Enjoyed my stay at Waterfront, the rooms were very clean and well equipped. he hotel is overlooking yhe waterfront, which is scenic. Further, the staff members were professional. Best establishment in Richards Bay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVMthembu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just by the waterfront, the rooms are spacious and overlook the waterfront, which is quite scenic. Breakfast is pretty well laid out, as is the diner buffet. Has a contemporary flavour which suits a business traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShabbirMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you are in Richard's Bay and need this stay over, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is right on the waterfront with a boardwalk walking along the water with lots of restaurants to choose from. Our room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed our overnight stay while we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

If I'd ever go back to richardsbay that's certainly my first choice hotel. The location is lovely, there is a little board walk next to the hotel, rooms are spacious and very nicely renovated and neil and leticiar that did the check in were by far the most professional and friendliest check in team ever! Thanks a ton for this guys and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

It is never a good start when the staff cannot find your reservation, therefore some of the negatives may be overstated. We liked the rooms which were comfortable and spacious, the bathroom was excellent. The view across the waterfront was very relaxing. Outdoor area for a sundowner was excellent.
However perhaps we were unlucky as there was number of Christmas parties on, the buffet was honed to a low quality compared to most food we have eaten in SA very poor.
The other major negative was the wifi relied on a voucher which took several attempts to obtain, not good for a hotel that relies on business people.
The staff were friendly and mostly helpful. The hotel could do a lot better.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richards Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#3 of 8 in Richards Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#1 of 8 in Richards Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.0 mi away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
Address: Corner of Pioneer & Bridgetown Road | Tuzigazi Waterfront, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richards Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it is style you want, then Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront is your only option. The hotel is situated in the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront in Richards Bay and caters for the executive traveller who is looking for something extra ordinary. The hotel has a prime location, the only hotel overlooking the waterfront in Richards Bay. The hotel boasts stylish standard rooms and 12 luxurious suites. The modern décor and personal touches in the rooms makes your stay away from home very comfortable. The rooms are very elegant and spacious and have en-suite bathrooms and king size beds. All rooms have magnificent views of the waterfront and bay area. The up-market, Ship to Shore Restaurant and its innovative, open plan design allows you to see into the kitchen while your meal is being prepared. The Ship to Shore serves a scrumptious full English breakfast and the a la carte menu is very upbeat. With a wide variety of meals to choose from, you are sure to find something that will be pleasing to the pallet. You can sit back and relax in the exclusive Admirals Cigar Lounge. Here you can puff on one of the machine rolled cigars that are on sale and enjoy your favourite premier brand drink. Unwind while sipping sundowners on the deck which overlooks the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront. The deck also has a crystal clear swimming pool and a seating pool. Kick your shoes off and enjoy your meal or drinks in the shallow waters of the seating pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing