We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Richards Bay
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Spent just the one night at this hotel , staff on reception were good and the room was pleasant enough
Hotel bar was good and the wifi areas were comfortable
The food in the evening was fantastic and the staff in the restaurant were great
Overall a good hotel with very friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
4
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manzini, Swaziland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed two nights at Protea Hotel. Had very pleasant stay. Very friendly service, great breakfast. Since it was off season the price was also great. The hotel is also a few minutes drive to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkosinathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Unfortunately we decided to book a room for one night at the Richards Bay Hotel. This hotel is not near the beach it is up on the hill quite a distance from the beach with nothing around it for you to do.

We left and moved to the Protea Waterfront. When we checked in to Richards Bay, we stepped off the elevator all we could smell is bleach, or something they were trying to use to clean the hallways. The room was dark, and looks out onto the parking lot. The pool is in the rear of the hotel and next to the parking lot.

Not the place to stay, if you only have one night in town. Might be ok if you are on business and do not care where you are going to stay for amenities, but this is not a vacation hotel.

Manager did not want to hear about our displeasure and refused to refund our room, so Protea got paid twice for our room that night. She was very explicit in her last email to me that she would decide if we got a refund not Corporate, some folks seem to have forgotten about customer service!

I won't be back in Africa soon, but I will make sure that all my reviews about my trip tell folks to stay away for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lucymik90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richards Bay hotels

South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Bokked for few days, food and breakfast arranged nicely, Rooms are managed well

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayKumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We booked in on Sat 08/08/2009 at 12.45 pm.We were told by a white female with blond hair that breakfast was included in our price. We paid in advance electronicly. On arrival we were told by the receptionist that everything was paid for including breakfast. So we enjoyed breakfast once.Monday the 10th we booked out. Then the surprize, breakfast was excluded in the tarriff that we have paid Is the hotel staff not informed what is going on. Why do they misled their clients, this is unexceptable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaalwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conakry, Guinea
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We enjoyed the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel for a weeks conference, the staff were absolutely delightful,helpful and gracious. I loved the fact the reception staff always remembered my name when coming down for a scrummy breakfast or when leaving or entering reception. The rooms are comfortably largish with super bathrooms. We felt safe going for a morning/afternoon walk. We did try out the restaurants either side of the hotel and found them to be of extremely poor quality. The food at the Protea to is the better option. The only thing against this hotel is the lack of gym and spa facilities.

  • Liked — the staff....clean comfortable rooms and great view
  • Disliked — no spa of gym
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1307boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 December 2005

Dear Trip Advisor

I just had to share my wonderful experience with you. We stayed at the Protea Hotel Richards Bay over the September Holidays and it was amazing. The staff were so friendly and helpful, no problem was to big for them so solve. The rooms are amazingly big with beatiful bathrooms. The staff were also wonderful with the kids, they provided them with games and even a cartoon channel to entertain them and the baby sitter was their favourite. We would just like to thank them for a wonderful experience and we will be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richards Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#3 of 8 in Richards Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
55 reviews
3.8 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
12 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indaba Lodge Richards Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indaba Lodge Richards Bay

Property: Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Address: P. O. Box 10105 | Meerensee, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Richards Bay)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Richards Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Indaba Lodge Richards Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay - Gateway to the Tuzi Gazi Coast. Welcome to this unique and inviting retreat, just two hours north of Durban, situated in the diverse city of uMhlathuze, Zululand. Experience the warm friendliness of Richards Bay and its picturesque surroundings, coupled with the relaxed hospitality and convenience of the centrally situated Indaba Lodge Richards Bay. Accommodation is comfortable, fully air-conditioned and stylishly decorated, including five suites. Socialising is easy at The Oasis, our intimate ladies bar. Enjoy a refreshing cocktail or dine in our spacious, elegant restaurant, where the tantalizing and varied buffet / carvery is sure to tempt you. Combine the beauty of this warm, lush, subtropical region with the savannah of the many game reserves, Zulu traditionalism with tranquil walks on miles of pristine beaches along the Tuzi Gazi Coast. Indaba Lodge Richards Bay - The ideal destination for travelling executives and holiday-makers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Indaba Lodge Richards Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing