We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh had a stunning Holiday”
Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Marlin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a stunning Holiday at the blue marlin hotel in December,The food was excellent and the new refurb going on makes the Hotel one of the best on the South Coast .The friendless of the staff and the help of the Manager Mathlie and the friendless of Richard Cele really made a good Holiday .The new pool area is also stunning can not weight for all the rooms to be redone .The Hotel is also on the doorstep of the beach

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mr Colin G.

Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin Hotel for your December holiday. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Malthee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have recently spent two weeks at the Blue Marlin Hotel. We have been coming here for the last thirteen years . We were delighted to see the refurbishment on the ground floor public rooms. They have been tastefully done and a huge improvement. We understand the rooms are next, this is long overdue. There are two examples of how the new bedrooms will look and they look excellent. There is now free wifi in the lounge a huge plus and flat screen TVs in the bedrooms with sports and news channels. The pool area has revamped too. When we arrived we had heard that there had been some problems but all appeared to be resolved by then, the 21st January. We have always found that the staff and the friendliness of the hotel second to none and this has not changed, always a lovely welcome on arrival. Lastly, the wonderful views of the beach are will make you want to return year after year.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Mrs K.

We are so pleased that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the renovations, we are very excited about the next phase too. All the best until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We go to the blue marlin 3 times a year and have been for the past 8 years. The rooms are older but comfortable and clean. The staff are wonderful, the beach is glorious and clean. We enjoy the little shops on the Main Street and the market on a Saturday. We have always enjoyed our 4 day breaks there and will continue going 3 times a year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms are old but the service makes up for it. The service staff are great, very friendly and welcoming, it's almost like coming home. The lounge and reception area have been renovated and look great. The location is also brilliant - just a quick walk into a gorgeous beach.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a dreadfull place to stay, PLEASE STAY AWAY!!! After an 8 hour drive from Bloemfontein we arrived at this dreadful place after being booked in by FLEXICLUB. All we knew about this place is what we could see from their webpage. Please do not be fooled, the website is nowhere near the truth. The rooms are smelly, feels and are dirty, no proper linen, no aircon, only noisy roof fans, no proper showers! NOISY, NOISY banging doors the whole night. In the restaurant you get told to wear trousers for dinner, we are on holiday dammit. Drinks are redicoulsly expensive and a terrible buffet at R120 per person?? STAY AWAY, is all I can say!

Room Tip: I stayed in the BEST ROOM, called Gul 1. Third rate, I cannot recommend this Awful Place to Anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chutesyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diana d, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Unfortunately the hotel is 63 years old and that is why the public areas have been upgraded but the rooms will only be upgraded over the next 3 years, one wing a year.
When you are next in the area, please feel free to visit the two mock up rooms so that you could have had an idea of what the hotel will eventually look like.
December is KZN's rainy season and a damp smell does set in after 7days of non stop rain, even though the carpets were deep cleaned before we re-opened and housekeeping deoderises the rooms.
We apologise for any inconvenience and hope to see you and your family at the new Blue Marlin Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Di dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

To be very Frank - This Hotel must be by far the worst I have ever stayed in. The room smelled, The passages leading to the room was not much better - The rooms looked and felt dirty. The food was a laugh - Had to seated in dining area in a certain time frame - Eat what was prepared from a set menu?? So old school - Evening entertainment was some local dude doing his best ventriloquist show - That even had the children bored

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The best hotel on the south coast. the food is amazing and the staff have a great personality and good attitude. Been going there since i was 2. love blue marline so much memories there i enjoy every minute just benin there. its relaxing and calm. Love every one there its my second home. The staff welcome u with a warm and friendly heart. love it there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
8.1 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
15.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
30 reviews
11.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Carisford Lodge
Carisford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Clansthal
11 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gee Wizz B & B
Gee Wizz B & B
#5 of 5 in Scottburgh
4 reviews
16.2 mi away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Address: 180 Scott Street, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing