We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Marlin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have been going to the Blue Marlin for some 20 odd years and have been eagerly awaiting the upgrades Sandy has been promising in the drawer in the room :-) On arriving we pulled up outside, it was clearly upgraded and from the outside, looked great. Into the reception area, what a difference airy, maybe a little too big, although I did see there is going to be a coffee shop on the right as you walk in, RIP the Fuzzy Duck. The bathrooms downstairs have also been upgraded. Now onto the Breezeway, what a transformation, we spent many discussions on how it had become wider, solved by Ashley, who told us the dining room doors were moved back. These too have been renovated, instead of the old wooden doors, that stuck and were seldom opened, they have been replaced with doors that fold back, opening the dining room up with fresh air, it was April, so not too hot. The old games room and Zulu Bar have been renovated, a lovely lounge area, which doublde for a Karaoke evening (great fun) one night. My only disappointment with down stairs is the bar. Understandably it is a family hotel, but kids in the bar, playing board games, youngsters running in front of the bar, 2 kids were even dragging each other with a body board, to get to the wonderful games/play area they have created. Before, you could escape the kids by going to the Zulu bar, no children, our kids used to stand at the door and ask for drinks, R2 coins for the machines, they knew it was an adult area. We were watching football one afternoon, and some choice language, as you would hear in a bar, was heard, again, not ideal for the kids. In the evening we wanted to have a quiet drink in their wonderful comfy chairs, but it was taken over by youngsters shouting, feet up on the furniture, the door to the play area open, children screaming with laughter as they played, it was 10pm!!!! Suggest they move the entrance to the play area, out of the bar, leave the windows so the children can be seen, but not disturb the people in the bar. Awaiting the upgrades of the rooms, seen 2 of them, look stunning. Staff, the old brigade, stunning as usual, the new ones, especially at reception, need to pay more attention to the Customer. The food, as always great! All in all, a lovely stay .

Room Tip: I prefer the new section, tongue in cheek
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Alison S.

Thank you for providing this helpful review. The areas of concern are being investigated.

We are pleased to announce the opening of The Spa @ Blue Marlin. And the bedroom renovation project is in full swing with at least 70 rooms getting a complete revamp.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Marlin again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    76
    18
    9
    14
See reviews for
67
57
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

After spending short week-long holidays every few years at the Blue Marlin Hotel in Scottburgh on the Kwa-Zulu Natal South Coast in South Africa over the past decade and a half, we decided to dive on the Aliwal Shoal and Blue Marlin was the logical choice for us because of its proximity to the beach, the spectacular sea views, the great three-meals-a-day 'mom is also on holiday' offers, and the fact that the hotel is a secure venue for safe keeping of our expensive camera equipment, and offer the kids tons of stuff to do.

We expect to pay a bit of a packet because of the meals deal, but their rates are actually very reasonable and well worth the value for the services rendered.

But when we drove up to the hotel, we immediately noticed the paint job. As we stepped inside we were gob smacked! They have upgraded communal area to a very appealing high standard. Everything is bigger, cleaner, more modern. New owners came with new ideas, and the service we received from the staff members were absolutely top notch.

Another added bonus is the on-site dive operators, Two Oceans Dive Academy, that offer training, gear and dive charters.

The food is always out of this world, so be ready to relax and gain a few kilograms.....Evening entertainment is varied and great fun. There is always something happening at the Blue Marlin and the vibe these is very cool. The place reminds me these days of that great trend-setting hotel in Plettenberg Bay, The Beacon Isle, or at least, heading in that direction. We'll be heading back there as soon as we feel the need to take a dip in the Indian Ocean again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but I would probably suggest a ground floor or first floor room with a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bu11Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bu11 Ray

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Blue Marlin Hotel and for your great review.

We are pleased to announce that our Beauty Spa has now opened, and we have started renovations on some of our bedrooms.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This was a nice return,after 4 years away.Great improvements to the bar,lounge,and reception area was a big surprise.I always choose a room in the old block,where you get an extra room for golf clubs etc.The staff,are as friendly as ever,the food of a high standard,and rooms comfortable with great sea views.A splendid golf course only five minutes away,where the green fee is only about 6 pounds.With the present exchange rate at 17.5 rands to the pound,you cannot go wrong.It is great value for money,and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr Frederick B,

Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin for your holiday. We are glad you liked the upgrade to the public areas, and are excited to announce that we have already begun renovations on some of our bedrooms.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The public areas have already been refurbished with excellent Lounge / Bar, outside lounge, gardens and swimming pool. We did not eat at the restaurant though there was very good lunches available at about R40. The rooms are dated but quite pleasant. The hallways are tatty but unlikely to be of concern. Overall a nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mr Ray C.

Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin Hotel for your recent holiday. We are pleased that you liked the renovations thus far. We will begin room renovations this year and look forward to your continued support.

Best regards

Malthee. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a stunning Holiday at the blue marlin hotel in December,The food was excellent and the new refurb going on makes the Hotel one of the best on the South Coast .The friendless of the staff and the help of the Manager Mathlie and the friendless of Richard Cele really made a good Holiday .The new pool area is also stunning can not weight for all the rooms to be redone .The Hotel is also on the doorstep of the beach

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Mr Colin G.

Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin Hotel for your December holiday. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Malthee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We have recently spent two weeks at the Blue Marlin Hotel. We have been coming here for the last thirteen years . We were delighted to see the refurbishment on the ground floor public rooms. They have been tastefully done and a huge improvement. We understand the rooms are next, this is long overdue. There are two examples of how the new bedrooms will look and they look excellent. There is now free wifi in the lounge a huge plus and flat screen TVs in the bedrooms with sports and news channels. The pool area has revamped too. When we arrived we had heard that there had been some problems but all appeared to be resolved by then, the 21st January. We have always found that the staff and the friendliness of the hotel second to none and this has not changed, always a lovely welcome on arrival. Lastly, the wonderful views of the beach are will make you want to return year after year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mrs K.

We are so pleased that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the renovations, we are very excited about the next phase too. All the best until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We go to the blue marlin 3 times a year and have been for the past 8 years. The rooms are older but comfortable and clean. The staff are wonderful, the beach is glorious and clean. We enjoy the little shops on the Main Street and the market on a Saturday. We have always enjoyed our 4 day breaks there and will continue going 3 times a year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
8.0 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
15.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
11.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#3 of 9 in Umkomaas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gee Wizz B & B
Gee Wizz B & B
#5 of 5 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Property: Blue Marlin Hotel
Address: 180 Scott Street | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing