We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at beautiful Eden River Lodge”
Review of Eden River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scottburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden River Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Scottburgh B&B and Inns
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay at beautiful Eden River Lodge”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Eden River Lodge in December 2013 for 3nights as part of a 3 week holiday to Africa. On arrival we were greeted by Aubrey who as we would find out was an absolute godsend, such a polite young gentleman and always a pleasure to be around. Nothing was too much trouble for Aubrey and he would always be prepared to go that extra mile. On our second day there we met the owners Sharon and Tony who were completely lovely and made every effort to make you feel at home, which we completely did. Eden River Lodge is absolutely stunning both inside and out. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and very comfortable with bathrooms and beds fit for royalty, the gardens are equally if not more amazing. A stunning outside dining area where you could have your breakfast while over looking the pool, gardens and the river running to the back of the lodge. A lovely deck right on the waters edge where you could eat or have some drinks with absolutely stunning views was a fantastic touch to the place. On our last full day there while enjoying some drinks and the views while on the deck we were lucky enough to spot a wild crocodile in the river that runs behind the lodge, something which we were informed hasn't happened for the last year due to a bad flood that happened in 2012. This just added to the complete excitement and beauty of Eden River. A very good location for shopping, sightseeing and water sports all of which are less than a 10 minute drive away. Overall an absolutely amazing place with such great atmosphere and beauty. All credit to Sharon and Tony for making the lodge so lovely with all the personal touches and amazing decor. Many thanks to Aubrey for being so brilliant in all that he did for us, his breakfasts were truly AMAZING!!!! We will definitely be visiting again and would recommend to each, all and every. Norma, Nigel, Emily and Jake. UK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pointe aux Canonniers
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Rooms are spacious and very well equipped and comfortable. The service is exceptional, Aubry is FANTASTIC and you feel so much like packing him in your luggage to take him home, He makes you feel so at home, Tony and Sharon are wonderful hosts and made our holiday memorable, the personal touches were delightful. this is place well worth visiting and certainly well worth a second, third, fourth visit,…lol……. In my view Eden River Lodge is HIGHLY recommended for a home away from home, to just chill, an atmosphere for True R and R ..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to Tony, Sharon and Aubrey for the hospitality that we received whilst staying at Eden River Lodge. It was absolutely world class and I would highly recommend the lodge to anyone. I can truly say that the lodge feels like a home away from home. The comfort, the service and the food was outstanding.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara_Pedlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a beautiful place! Our room had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and facing the river. Spectacularly service and a really cosy and very chic atmosphere. Hope you'll all come visit Barcelona soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillipeppa, Owner at Eden River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

As an ex South African now living in Australia, I like to grab any opportunity to go back to the land of my birth. It seems that since I left I yearn to travel South Africa and experience all her beautiful places far more than when I ever lived there! I was lucky enough to be back there earlier this year for my nieces wedding, and even luckier to experience Eden River Lodge.
Situated right on the banks of the Mahlongwa River just on the outskirts of the coastal town of Scottburgh, it does not take long for the stress of long distance travel to leave you, and even though you are only 10 minutes drive to the town centre and very popular beach, you feel like you are miles and miles from anywhere. The view from the rooms, and also the deck right at the waters edge, could easily fool you into believing that you were on some remote game reserve.
My pet hate during travel, is uncomfortable beds. Well I am happy to report that without doubt, I had the most comfortable two nights sleep at Eden River Lodge EVER! And that includes our own home in Australia. My wife and I were so impressed with the comfort of the bed, and the pillows, that we checked out the name of the manufacturer, and have now ordered a set of pillows to be sent over to us in Australia! If we could have afforded the bed, we would have ordered that too!
The friendliness and hospitality showed to us by the owners and staff, was outstanding. The place is run by a very friendly and efficient Kenyan young man, who whisked our luggage away and to our rooms with a huge smile. The breakfast that he rustled up for us the next day would rival any five star hotel worldwide without problem. On the one evening that we did eat there, we were lucky enough to have the owners themselves prepare what must be one of their signature dishes. We had a delicious oxtail that was absolutely melt-in-your-mouth stuff, and I ate way too much, but was powerless to resist.
I rate the place 5 star without hesitation, and recommend it wholeheartedly. I will definitely be staying there when I visit SA again!
Patrick and Lauren – Gold Coast Australia.

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stopped of here for a night after flying into Durban. The "fish eagle" room was spacious and comfy, loved the super sized bed and his and hers showers!

The breakfast was great and we sat outside chatting with the owners for some time. We were very well looked after and well drop by again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillipeppa, Owner at Eden River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
1.0 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
209 reviews
8.9 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Four Palms Guest House
Four Palms Guest House
#1 of 5 in Scottburgh
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gee Wizz B & B
Gee Wizz B & B
#5 of 5 in Scottburgh
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cutty Sark Hotel
Cutty Sark Hotel
#2 of 2 in Scottburgh
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden River Lodge

Property: Eden River Lodge
Address: 12 Richmond Crescent | Freeland Park, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Scottburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent lodge, with the highest quality of finishes, is situated approximately 60km away from Durban in the South Coast town of Scottburgh. The lodge offers a country like retreat with the convenience of being minutes away from all amenities. It boasts 7 spacious bedrooms, a huge open plan living area that has excellent flow onto the covered patio which overlooks the sparkling swimming pool. The river flows right past the garden and with a beautiful viewing deck built on the edge of the lagoon you can enjoy sundowners with the most spectacular surroundings. The Scottburgh beach is 2 km away and we have 5 top class golf courses within close proximity. Deep sea fishing can also be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing