We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first port of call!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of wimpy - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
wimpy
Restaurant details
essex
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My first port of call!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

There is nothing better than sitting at the Scottburgh Beach Wimpy admiring the beautiful sea view while enjoying a delicious Wimpy milkshake and of course my favourite, a wimpy waffle. What a pity the Municipality has let the building become neglected. however as usual the staff of Wimpy are welcoming and the service is great. Sadly this Wimpy will close at the end of the month, again due to lack of foresight by those in power. This restaurant has served holiday makers well and it is sad that it will no longer have this privilege.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No No!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The service was bad. The food was cold and the staff need to clean a bit. The view was at least nice but that's all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
557 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
“Magnificent views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had the pleasure of having lunch at Wimpy in Scottburgh on our way down the South Coast on 28 July 2014. The building in which the Wimpy in housed looked a bit neglected from the outside but once inside we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff members and shown to our table. We received excellent service from our friendly waitress.

It was a pleasant surprise to see the improvement of the presentation of our burgers and fries - the fries were served folded in red and white paper in a separate small bowl on the plate - nice touch! (It is standard for all franchises to implement improvements - we saw the same at Wimpy in Margate)
Like other reviewers mentioned this Wimpy has spectacular sea views and this contributed to a very relaxing and memorable meal.

I took note of Tony K's review in which he mentioned the difficulty in renewing the lease to the same owner. I truly hope this can be resolved because it will be very sad to loose this Wimpy with it's excellent service and views like no other!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Reliable Wimpy with an amazing view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food is your average standard Wimpy , one knows exactly what to expect - all is in order here.What makes it a '4' is the wonderful view accross the Indian Ocean and beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottburgh, South Africa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Burgers n Breakfast-by-the-sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ok so everybody knows a Wimpy franchise - they are all very similar. But none of them have the sea-views that the Scottburgh Wimpy on the beach has. Popular with bikers, beach-goers, families, children, surfers, moms n dads, gals n lads; a place for all. Sadly though not for much longer as the local municipality has difficulty renewing the lease to the same person that has held this for many years. My guess is that shady deals by councillors will destroy this place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed wimpy also viewed

Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing