We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant - highly recommend!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cutty Sark Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scottburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cutty Sark Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant - highly recommend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

What a great 3 nights at the cutty sark hotel in scottburgh! Can't wait to come back!! My children are 2 and 4, the hotel is child friendly and the staff have been so lovely and helpful, delicious food and outstanding service and the location is unbeatable! It's great not to have to wander out and find dinner and breakfast, much easier with kids! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samgina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Rooms are tired, cold and uncomfortable.

Service was the same standard.

Room Tip: Best room tip is to find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scottburgh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Great position for exploring the south coast. Good sized rooms for families, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunsterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

The guide book stated that this hotel is dated. And yes it is. The rooms and the .. well the entire place needs a complete renovation. Old tv, old fridge, old beds, yes everything is old. The service was quick (we asked for more bedding and towels), and the rooms are functional, and huge and the sea views are unbeatable. We could only book the room with dinner as that was the cheapest package available when we showed up, and I was a bit apprehensive as the restaurant looked dark and empty. The dinner was however fine, and I don't think we could have done better at the Spur (midrange chain) down the street.

Over all if you get a good price and can ignore the obvious need of renovation then you can, as I did, appreciate this hotel. My wife and I felt like we could just imagine what this place must have been like in the 1960's.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samuelwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

Visited here on holiday in November 2007. The hotel is not a high standard hotel and cannot fairly compare with the hotels that I have previously visited elsewhere. As with some parts of South Africa the property has dated and is need of refurbishment.
The room that we had was on the ground floor, containing a double bed, TV, wardrobes etc. The room itself was large, there was enough room for my golf clubs to stand up - as the room was L-shaped. The room did have a sea view - although limited due to the trees that are between the hotel and the beach (which lead directly from the hotel grounds).
The hotel has an outdoor pool and pool area which is OK for a dip, however the pool was not the cleanest during our stay.
It is also a very quiet hotel - much like Scottburgh itself.
I think that one of the main issues for the hotel is a lack of competition in the area, the Blue Marlin is the only other hotel in Scottburgh, so there is not much to encourage a refubishment. The hotel has the potential to be a great hotel but needs some investment.

  • Liked — Close to Scottburgh and the golf
  • Disliked — Didn't feel that security was taken seriously
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volume69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Welshman living in england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Cutty Sark Hoel on many occasions. We have always found it to be most excellent. The rooms are large, well furnished and ventilated by electric fans. The food is of a very high quality and served in a restaurant that overlooks the sea. The grounds surrounding the hotel must be amongst the most impressive in South Africa.
Most important - the kindness and consideration of the hotel staff is most impressive. They will do anything to make your stay pleasant and totally satisfactory. I would recommend this hotel to any intended visitor to Scottburgh.
David and Carol Evans.

  • Liked — The quality and friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — It is some distance outside Scottburgh - but the walk does you good!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidtewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa: Cutty Sark Hotel
Date: 1-5th October 2007
A TripAdvisor Member, Rome Italy

All the staff very, very kind, nice and helpfull. I had needed some problems that I resolved with their help.
the rooms are big, clean but spoil.
The restaurant is excellent, absolutly very good cooking.
There is also a beautiful garden.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chiccasub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
11.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
8.4 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gee Wizz B & B
Gee Wizz B & B
#5 of 5 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutty Sark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Hotel

Property: Cutty Sark Hotel
Address: Beachfront, Scottburgh, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing