We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of The Chefs' Table

The Chefs' Table
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Description: Sans cultural allegiance, we offer dishes that borrow tradition, techniques & styles from all over - celebrating the best SA has to offer from local farms.
Restaurant details
Description: Sans cultural allegiance, we offer dishes that borrow tradition, techniques & styles from all over - celebrating the best SA has to offer from local farms.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner booked a booth at The Chef’s Table for our anniversary. The booth faces the open kitchen where we were able to observe the chefs prepare the meals. The setting was warm and lit in such a way to create wonderful ambience. We were greeted with smiles and personal attention and wished for our anniversary. We were guided in our choice of wine as well as the meals on the menu. The wine and meals were amazing, delicious and, even though we have visited The Chef’s Table previously, we will certainly visit it in the future. This restaurant is one of the best restaurants I have experienced and I recommend it to anyone who appreciates excellent food and service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank antoinettebdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstydaniellegray, Public Relations Manager at The Chefs' Table, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi antoinettebdc

Wow! Thank you for the amazing review! You are making us blush!

Thank you for your support.

We absolutely loved having you and we cannot wait for your next visit.

From the team at
The Chefs Table

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having been two years away from Umhlanga, I have found numerous changes to the surrounds, including restaurants that are right on my door step(literally)...and yesterday notices some action on the 1st floor across the road. I decided to explore and started chatting to Linda who called Ayrton and a reservation was secured for a 6 course wine pairing meal(which is optional)...what an amazing experience.
I found that the chefs were very original and were not trying to emulate others’ dishes which was refreshing. The sommeliers, both black South Africans, Zwai(male) and Mandi(female) were also up to the task.
A truly great culinary outing...Test Kitchen et al beware

Thank Tzoro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstydaniellegray, Public Relations Manager at The Chefs' Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tzoro2

Welcome back to Umhlanga.

Wow! Thank you for the amazing review!

We absolutely loved having you and we cannot wait to spoil you again soon!
We will pass on your message to our staff.

From the team at
The Chefs Table

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this restaurant on two occasions.
The first experience was the Valentines day set menu. All meals with exception of the dessert (liquorice, pear) was excellent.

On the second occasion, it was a food and cocktail pairing. This turned out to be average at best. Only 2 out 4 cocktails were decent. More than this, the food was the biggest disappointment. It seemed forced with regard to flavours, textures, etc. The rabbit dish was especially bad and the dessert which had a sugar disc over a cocktail was equally bad. All other dishes were okay, no where close to what we we tasted previously.

Thank Alcino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstydaniellegray, Public Relations Manager at The Chefs' Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Alcino P

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing time with us. It certainly does not sound like it was up to our usual high standard.
Please could you provide us with your contact details so that the owner/management can contact you to find out more.

From the team at
The Chefs Table

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner here with a good friend of mine (her suggestion). The food was absolutely amazing and creative! However, halfway through our evening we wished we had arranged prior for a set menu - they do have this option. I also got to try Oysters for the first time here! They were worth the bravery so go for it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandy_Ntombela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstydaniellegray, Public Relations Manager at The Chefs' Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mandy_Ntombela

Thank you for your review. We loved having you and your friend! Our tasting menu is really something special that we pride ourselves on, so you need to come again and try it! And we are so glad you got to experience Oysters with us for the first time!

We look forward to having you again in the near future.

From the team at
The Chefs Table

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a large group that included some foreign travelers to RSA for the first time.
Our first team dinner was managed very well with great staff, great wines and great food. Well done to the team at Chefs Table, and thanks for a great evening

Thank craigfoot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstydaniellegray, Public Relations Manager at The Chefs' Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi craigfoot01

Wow! Thank you for the amazing review and the 5 stars!

Thank you for choosing us for your first team dinner!

We absolutely loved having you and we cannot wait to see you again soon!

From the team at
The Chefs Table

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chefs' Table also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Chefs' Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing