We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good enough for this price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
aha Royal Palm Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not good enough for this price”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Power was out when i arrived- not the hotel's fault, and not uncommon anywhere in Africa. This was handled with some humour, including virtually breaking into one's own room with the porter- and then the power came on a few mins later - no issues at all with this so far.
An hour or so after this, still no wifi, still no TV. Phoned reception, told would all be up in 5 mins. Reckoned this meant a couple of hours, but that was ok. Asked for a "breakfast request" form as there was none in the room. Was assured would be delivered shortly.

Next morning -several calls, no wifi, no breakfast form ( found one under the bed, long story ), no TV working. No apology, no credits given for the room.

Just not good enough. Room was ok, hotel might be fine if with the power on and no problems, but they did not rise to the occassion on my visit. No shortage of other hotels in Umhlanga, i'll be elsewhere next month.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    84
    58
    28
    7
See reviews for
67
54
13
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Some hotels call large rooms "suites" when in fact they are just large rooms with a chair. The room that I got at the Royal Palm was TRULY a suite having a large separate lounge (couch, chairs, tables - the whole lot). It was extremely tastefully equipped and very comfortable - good linen, fluffy towels, top quality soaps, etc. The room lives up to its name of "royal".

The one thing other travellers may not like is the lack of a proper hotel feeling. The rooms are really apartments and there are none of the normal services you would relate to a conventional hotel such as porters, concierges, etc. The only staff I saw were a person at the front desk (small counter) on check-in and a cleaning lady. But this appeals to me - I like to look after myself and all the extras that you find in "grand" hotels are just a waste of money and you know they are going to end up on your bill somehow. I much prefer all of the money to go into the things that matter to me - great room, home-style facilities, great location. And the Royal is spot-on with all of these.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloubergstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Rooms are very comfortable. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is relaxed with plenty of choice. Hotel is right across the road from the Gateway Retail centre so there plenty of alternative restaurants and opportunities to buy things. Wireless internet connects easily. Hotel organises good taxis. Pool and gym are across the road in the shopping centre. Easy parking. Hotel is not on beach so marked location 4 star.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scots_in_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

This hotel had everything. I loved it. It's nicere than my condo

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I wasn't exactly thrilled about staying in an Asian-themed hotel in South Africa because I'm from Asia. Good thing Royal Palm Gateway did not disappoint. For only ZAR 850 (roughly USD 100) per night, I had a very pleasant stay in a suite room with a soft king-sized bed, lots of pillows, and Lindt chocolate with a quirky note every night.

It's right across Umhlanga Rocks' charming Gateway Mall, dubbed the biggest in the southern hemisphere, and about 5-min drive from the beach. Though the staff was courteous and helpful, don't expect anything fancy because even if its an Asian-themed hotel, it has not captured the warm & hospitable disposition of Asians.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CescaSilvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Stayed in Royal Palm for a couple of days on business trip. The hotel is situated close by to Gateway Shopping Centre. Restaurants, supermarket, gym, movie theatre are 50 m from the hotel.
The rooms are big, with a separated bedroom. Bathroom is clean and equiped with bathtub and shower. The living room was nice with a working desk, LCD Tv and a small kitchen area to store and warm up food if needed.
The breakfast in the restaurant area was weird. From toast to coffee you have to order everything separatly. It might take some time tough.
Hotel receptionist was not particulary friendly, and even we had the printed confirmation from the hotel, he insisted on having the booking from the next day. It was sorted out quickly, but was not the nicest start.
All together I found the hotel really comfortable, clean and would definitely recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenyoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Umhlanga is an excellent location and the hotel is situated right next to the Gateway shopping centre and therefore you have easy access to plenty of restaurants, bars and shops whilst feeling verv secure. Having said that I thought the hotel was fairly uninspiring and had the feeling that it was a business centre more than a hotel. The staff were not attentive, with the exception of the cleaning staff who were so eager in cleaning your room they insisted on barging in every half an hour in the morning until you got up. Combine this with an unwanted and unordered wake-up call very early in the morning meant that I left the hotel more tired than when I arrived.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Royal Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Royal Palm Hotel

Property: aha Royal Palm Hotel
Address: 08 Palm Boulevard | New Town Centre, Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Royal Palm)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — aha Royal Palm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 20 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and in close proximity to the La Lucia Ridge office estates, the Umhlanga village and the Umhlanga beachfront, aha Royal Palm is an ideal location for both business and recreational travel. The aha Royal Palm Hotel offers a selection of stylish accommodation, from junior suites to studio and 2 bedroom apartments, through to 2 and three bedroom penthouses. All rooms and suites feature numerous facilities and state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your aha Royal Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing