We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good appartment hotel trapped in a soulless building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aha Royal Palm Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Plus points first; large, clean, comfortable and well-appointed room with excellent internal sound-proofing. Handy having a microwave, fridge and small sink area. Good location if you want to be within safe walking distance of the Gateway retail/leisure complex. Free parking. Friendly staff. Very good restaurant.

However, don't expect a warm fuzzy feeling. Leave your room and the place is drab, dark and almost completely devoid of character. It doesn't help that the lifts and the two entrances to the hotel are located off public lobbies which are shared with the other tenants in the building and provide access to the shared car park. I stayed here for quite a while on business on my own and it was just depressing. I never got the feeling I was returning to a hotel; more like a suite located in a multi-tenure office building. All not helped by the view from the suite, which would be fine if you really, really like concrete and hard landscaping.

And another thing! If you're going to charge that much for Wi-Fi, make it a decent speed at least.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for aha Royal Palm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel room was well decorated, the room was a great size especially if travelling with children. The room had a kitchenette with microwave.Located right next to gateway mall, so easy access to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2quteDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Room620. Perfect for 6 people. Room are fancy & comfortable. Bathrooms are absolutely luxurious, big & stunning. Room620 has a kitchen & lounge, with two balconies. Royal Palm situated opposite the Gateway Shopping Center, so that's cool, plus alot of food, shopping & entertainment provided. Breakfast was not wow, but made me full. Overall, a great family hotel in the heart of Umhlanga & a nice area in Durban, South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhamedOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Palm for 3 nights. We got upgraded upon arrival to a 1 bedroom suite as opposed to a studio. The room was brilliant - wonderful bathroom and very stylishly furnished with all the required amenities of a good 4 star hotel. The view from the room was not great - overlooking another block of apartments. The service from the restaurant was really not up to scratch - continuously getting orders wrong and very slow. Rooms and Front of House Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for a weekend, was attending conference that was being held @ the same hotel. eco-friendly- energy saving light/electrical fittings, spacious rooms, all basic amenities, courteous staff, within a huge shopping complex. Delicious food!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidsdocimonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Royal Palm in Umhlanga, it was amazing. My flight was late arriving and I checked in after midnight, the kitchen was closed and the bellman offered to get me a meal from a nerarby restaurant, and he did! This was the beginning of an amazing stay imbued with outstanding service, excellent food in the onsite restaurant( great breakfasts and great lamb chops at dinner0 and an amazingly elegant room. I had a junior suite ( living room, bedroom with twin accordian privacy doors, glass enclosed shower,seperate tub, in suite toilet, a wet bar and an huge airconditioned balcony). The manager, Vaughn arranged my taxis and dinner reservations upon request and went so far as to survey the staff for a particular kind of restaurant that I wanted to experience. He spent a lot of time getting information for my specific requersts. Scelo and Sphindle were extremely helpful as well. They all went way beyond the call od duty to see to my needs.

This is a great comfortable classy hotel located outside of Durban. If you stay at the Royal Palm and need to head into Durban take note, it is a 20 minute drive or a $40 cab ride (US) or 200 to 250 Rand each way. The cab ride can be billed to your room which was quite helpful and assures an accurrate price ( no evidence of price gouging, just a precaution the hotel provides). When I return to South Africa, I will split my stay between the Royal Palm and the Elengeli Sun on the Durban beach front. I will remain thankful for the amazing stay at the appropriately named Royal Palm. MM.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Just spent the night there with the kids in a 2 bedroom suite. Very comfortable and spacious. Has microwave, kettle and fridge but no cutlery or crockery except for tea cups and spoons. Could do with some cutlery and some crockery. Hotel does not have a swimming pool, no entertainment for the kids - more for the business traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Royal Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Royal Palm Hotel

Address: 08 Palm Boulevard | New Town Centre, Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Royal Palm)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £61 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — aha Royal Palm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 20 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and in close proximity to the La Lucia Ridge office estates, the Umhlanga village and the Umhlanga beachfront, aha Royal Palm is an ideal location for both business and recreational travel. The aha Royal Palm Hotel offers a selection of stylish accommodation, from junior suites to studio and 2 bedroom apartments, through to 2 and three bedroom penthouses. All rooms and suites feature numerous facilities and state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your aha Royal Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing