We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Royal Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed here for a week on business. More than a hotel room, you get something that is more like an apartment, but without the kitchen (there's a fridge and a microwave.... but no pots, pans, plates, cutlery, etc. Nice living room area with the comfiest sofas I have ever had in a hotel room! The hotel was perfectly clean and tidy, had a nice restaurant where the food was very good (I ate here several times for breakfast and dinner). The bar is a part of the restaurant, it's ok but not really thought out as a seperate area very well.
The hotel is opposite a massive shopping mall called Gateway with lots of restaurants, some bars, cinema, etc, etc.
I walked around the immediate area to the hotel on several occasions and felt perfectly safe, there appears to be no issues with safety here and plenty of security guards patrolling around.
I think the hotel was fantastic value for money, from the room cost to the food and drink. Great for business travel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arby1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at the Royal Palms this last week for a work trip to Durban.

The rooms are clean however the hotel lacks in atmosphere and you get the feeling that it is a little rundown. The staff are slow and the breakfast options are not the best.

The only good thing about this place is that:
1) The rooms are large and you get a balcony.
2) The location is amazing as it is right opposite the Gate Way shopping center.

I would suggest for the same price staying at one of the other hotels right next door. HolidayIn Etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Beautiful big rooms, bathrooms and balconies. Very helping and efficient staff. Nice restaurant and perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascaLDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Plus points first; large, clean, comfortable and well-appointed room with excellent internal sound-proofing. Handy having a microwave, fridge and small sink area. Good location if you want to be within safe walking distance of the Gateway retail/leisure complex. Free parking. Friendly staff. Very good restaurant.

However, don't expect a warm fuzzy feeling. Leave your room and the place is drab, dark and almost completely devoid of character. It doesn't help that the lifts and the two entrances to the hotel are located off public lobbies which are shared with the other tenants in the building and provide access to the shared car park. I stayed here for quite a while on business on my own and it was just depressing. I never got the feeling I was returning to a hotel; more like a suite located in a multi-tenure office building. All not helped by the view from the suite, which would be fine if you really, really like concrete and hard landscaping.

And another thing! If you're going to charge that much for Wi-Fi, make it a decent speed at least.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel room was well decorated, the room was a great size especially if travelling with children. The room had a kitchenette with microwave.Located right next to gateway mall, so easy access to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2quteDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Room620. Perfect for 6 people. Room are fancy & comfortable. Bathrooms are absolutely luxurious, big & stunning. Room620 has a kitchen & lounge, with two balconies. Royal Palm situated opposite the Gateway Shopping Center, so that's cool, plus alot of food, shopping & entertainment provided. Breakfast was not wow, but made me full. Overall, a great family hotel in the heart of Umhlanga & a nice area in Durban, South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhamedOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Palm for 3 nights. We got upgraded upon arrival to a 1 bedroom suite as opposed to a studio. The room was brilliant - wonderful bathroom and very stylishly furnished with all the required amenities of a good 4 star hotel. The view from the room was not great - overlooking another block of apartments. The service from the restaurant was really not up to scratch - continuously getting orders wrong and very slow. Rooms and Front of House Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,916 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Hotel

Address: 08 Palm Boulevard | New Town Centre, Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Royal Palm)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £65 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 20 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and in close proximity to the La Lucia Ridge office estates, the Umhlanga village and the Umhlanga beachfront, the Royal Palm is an ideal location for both business and recreational travel. The Royal Palm Hotel offers a selection of stylish accommodation, from junior suites to studio and 2 bedroom apartments, through to 2 and three bedroom penthouses. All rooms and suites feature numerous facilities and state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing