We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Palm Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manaar House Bed and Breakfast(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
104
97
69
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
97
69
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdish restaurantgateway malljunior suitehotel roomlounge areastaying at this hotelrooms are spaciousbreakfast staffbusiness tripupon checkexcellent locationconvenient locationumhlanga beacheasy accesspleasant stayenjoyed my staybeach front
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Thank you to the guys at Royal Palm for a great stay!

Your 3 bedroom apartments are to die for. The entire hotel feels safe, clean and has a very opulent feel.

Well done for providing me with an experience I'm unlikely to forget!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seano1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5sallyb, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Seano,

It was an absolute pleasure have you stay with us at Three CitiesRoyal Palm Hotel and thank you for your positive feedback.

We are delighted to here that your experience was inforgetable and we certainly look forward to seeing you shortly.

Warm regards
Management Team Three Cities Royal Palm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is in a great location in what is a bustling Umhlanga. It has a distinct business feel to it, but not in a negative sense. I arrived later than expected after a delayed flight, but was happy to find out that the kitchen served dinner until 22:30. The dinner selection was good and the wine selection was adequate. The restaurant opens onto a square and has a great feel. The hotel room is more suite than room. The lounge area and mini kitchenette creates extra space which will be handy if you'll be staying longer than just 2 or so days. The bedroom is great and the bed is very comfortable.

The bathroom is great too.

For business travel, I was surprised that there was no iron and ironing board available to iron my work shirt which was in a suitcase all day. The receptionist did, however, make arrangements to get one delivered to my room first thing in the morning.

Breakfast options were good (and plentiful).

I will return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5sallyb, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Brent,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at Three Cities Royal Palm Hotel was enjoyable and your comments highlighted have been commended to our Friendly proffessional Staff.

It was a pleasure sharing our Hotel with you as a valued guest, and look forward to you returning to Three Cities Royal Palm soon.

Kind regards
Sally Bricknell
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

One of the more luxuriance apartment style hotels in KZN. Very friendly staff with professional service 24h around the clock. They opposite gateway shopping mall and 5 minutes to the Umhlanga beach. Big spacious rooms with all the necessary needs of modern hotels. A must stay for any traveler. Thanks to Lehay and Shami for running an excellent service and made the Proteas stay unforgettable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ryanmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5sallyb, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Riaan
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback following your stay at Three Cities Royal palm Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was most enjoyable and in particular your attention to detail with regards to commending our valued, friendly staff. We are privledged to have had your amazing "Protea" Team stay with us and commend them once again on their phenominal Test Series Win.

We hope that you left our hotel with a treasured memory and look forward to your return.

Wishing you all the best for 2014.
Warm Regards
Sally Bricknell
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel/ apartments is situated diagonally opposite Gateway shopping centre and a 5min drive from the beach. Probably better suited for longer stay business visitors enjoying "home away from home" accommodation.

The 2 bed apartment I stayed in was tastefully furnished. Pity the upkeep/ housekeeping was not of the same standard. Quite a few lamp shades were skew, the bathroom floor was not clean and the carpets and couch could do with a good steam clean. The basics were ok though: linen and towels were clean and fresh and since I stayed only for one night it was good enough.

The service and breakfast was satisfactory. All and all not bad, however, there are definitely better options in the vicinity. Perhaps if they pay more attention to detail it could be a better option. It is unlikely that I will stay in this "hotel" again simply because there are quite a few better options available in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5sallyb, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Daniel,

Three Cities Roya Palm Hotel have acknowledged and addressed your concerns with regard to "attention to detail". We sincerely appreciate your feedback and oppologise for any inconvienace caused on your 1 night stay with us. We certainly pride ourselves in hospitality and oppologise for the inconvienance that you experienced.

We certainly hope that you will reconsider us on your travels.

Kind Regards
Three Cities Royal Palm Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in October 2013 for a business trip. Nice things include the location if you want to be close to the Gateway shopping centre or the close by business buildings, there are nice spas and restaurants on the same block. The not so nice things include that they requested I pay all fees up front before I checked into room (which makes it difficult if you don't end up staying because something goes wrong), they do not fill up the mini bar (you have to pay them up front to do this), there is very little crockery in the room. I found the service from reception staff to be underwhelming for example they couldn't loan me an umbrella, my fridge was turned off so I had to call for help to know how to turn it on, it also took almost 2 hours to get staff to come to my room on multiple occasions to help me get wi fi connection, fix fridge, fix broken lamp, unlock safe as I made a mistake entering code. Not big deals but when you are there on business and doing shift work like I was it made it very frustrating when you have to keep calling back to remind them to help you. The room also melt like smoke even though it was a no smoking room. The bathroom is nice with towel heaters and a bath tub plus separate shower, the beds are comfortable and clean and all rooms seem to have a small balcony to relax (although the view is back over some apartment buildings. The fitness centre and pool are available over in the shopping centre so it takes at least 10 minutes each way to get to and from and with no hotel umbrella very uncomfortable. A very standard hotel but probably ok for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaMearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5sallyb, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Fiona Mearon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with your input, following your stay at Three Cities Royal Palm Hotel.

i, sincerely oppologise with regards to the umbrella issue. Umbrellas are issued to our guests and your point has been raised and addressed with out Front Desk Manager. Our Billing is a standard procedure which is addressed in all hotels in South Africa, whereby upfront payment is required. Should you have had reason to leave our hotel earlier than expected we would happily reimbursed you.

The Gym facilitie is an add on that we offer our guests complimentary from our local Virgin Active Gym, which is located accross the road from our hotel, we are delighted you utilised this service.
All mini bars in our rooms are stocked as per your request and billed accordingly, we oppologise should this not have been explained correctly to yourself.

All hotel rooms are non smoking, we would have gladly supplied an ozone machine that cleanses the room should this have been bought to our attention.

Once again, we appreciate your review input and have addressed all concerned issues.

Warm Regards
Three Cities Royal Palm Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews