We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearls of umhlanga”
Review of The Pearls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pearls
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pearls of umhlanga”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent location in terms of access to the beach. The apartment we stayed in was very average for the price and the overall development is still a building site. The apartment was also not well kept and seemed to be suffering from a cockroach infestation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    5
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Pearls definitely has an excellent location with lot of restaurants and shops around. There is also a great pool area and easy access to the beach. Unfortunately, the 2 bedrooms apartment that we stayed at has almost zero sea view. One of the rooms actually facing the huge construction site next door. The construction works start early in the morning (7:30am) so you can actually hear the noise from the room. Although they provide toilet amenities at our arrival, they are not being refilled even we stayed for 5 days. We stayed at other serviced apartments around South Africa and usually they provide simple things like tea, sugar, salt & pepper at the kitchen but there is none provided at The Pearls. There is also no reception area where guests could get info or help when they need. Luckily the management team are quite responsive and easy to reach by phone.

Room Tip: try to avoid the room that is facing the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at a 3-bedroom apartment on the 8th floor of the Pearl Breeze building. Absolutely immaculate and modern. I couldn't fault the apartment on a single thing. Amazing views from every single bedroom, the kitchen, lounge, and dining room, as well as, a stunning balcony that runs around the entire apartment. The only flaw with the Pearls is the accommodation policy, which now states that you have to stay at any of their apartments for at least 14 days. This is a rather ridiculous clause considering the high price of the units.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here for a month in August 2012. Everything about this place is really nice.
Awsome sea view from every nook and corner of the apartment.
The place is very well furnished. The swimming pool area is the best place to hangout on a sunny day.

The apartment is very close to Umhlanga Village which has all good restaurants, stores.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parul1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Am I the only one out there that thinks it is stink the way a few hotel/accommodation providers want full payment months in advance? I was really taken aback by The Pearls inflexible policy in this regard. I arrange tours all over Southern Africa for groups and have never come across such an unhelpful approach. I was happy to pay a deposit and the rest on arrival for a stay for 9 people at R14,000 per night. A little steep I think to have all that money for more than 5 months. I think its time the customers started demanding better than this. I for one will be boycotting The Pearls for future groups that I arrange.
Graeme Kruger
Managing Director
GSK Consulting Ltd

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We visited The Pearls in February 2012 and what a lovely flat. We had one of the 'Tides' units and had lovely sea views. The unit had air-conditioning which is a must have in Umhlanga for the month of February. The unit was up market and very well furnished. The main bedroom had a lovely spacious bathroom. The second and third rooms were just as beautiful as the main with two single beds in both, both bathrooms had en-suite bathrooms – very nice.
The Pearls has two swimming pools, one smaller lap pool to the side of the establishment and one very large pool in the centre of the high-rises with beautiful views of the ocean. The only negative experience we had was that because it was out of season they were busy with some maintenance, including adding very strong chemicals to the pool, which we could not use for 4 days of your holiday – which was a big disappointment, especially for the very windy days, when the beach isn’t as pleasant as a pool side.

All in all, we had a nice time – however you do pay to ensure such comfort!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPJLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearls

Property: The Pearls
Address: 4-6 Lagoon Drive | Durban, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pearls 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearls Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing