We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for exploring Durban”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring Durban”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I visited Durban for an extended weekend break from Joburg. Rather than stay in any of the hotels on Durban's main beachfront (Marine Parade / O R Tambo Parade), I opted for something a little off the beaten track. And since I had a toddler with me, a kitchenette was important, hence I was looking for self catering facilities. And I could not have done better than Breakers. The resort has the trappings of a hotel, with the added benefits of self catering. It is located at the end of Lagoon Drive in Umhlanga Rocks, adjacent to the Umlanga Lagoon Nature Reserve. Consequently, the beach is almost secluded, with just the right number of people from the resort and adjacent holiday rentals so as not to feel deserted. The resort has a private access to the beach, which is about 20 metres away. There also a great paved 2.5 km jogging track all the way to the lighthouse, for the more energetic.

For those not familiar with Durban and its surrounding areas, Umhlanga is like a posh suburb along the coastline. And Umhlanga Rocks is just the right distance from Durban (about 15 kms on the M4) so not to be too far. The other places like La Mercy and Tongaat are a little too far.

The resort has a small gym (which unsurprisingly, no one seemed to use), a great pool and water activity area with slides which was very popular and a small kids activity area. The resort grounds are quite spacious and have a outdoor play are for kids too, There is also a poolside bar and entertainment area, and a restaurant Blu, which I did not visit. At the the other end of Lagoon Drive, towards Lighthouse road there are a number of eateries and pubs that operate well into the night. Durban itself is an easy 15 miunute drive away on the M4.

The Resort has a timeshare section, and an owners section which can be booked directly. I was quoted R1200 by the resort for a studio unit, but got it for less from Lightouse Group (The booking fee however was a bit of a dampener). I enjoyed thetime spent at Breakers, and would recommend it to anyone planning a family trip to Durban.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a private sit out area, hence better than those on other floors which do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nayaksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    74
    20
    7
    17
See reviews for
106
45
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Reception staff do not use shoes!!! pathetic appearance as the reception is the first point of contact. i was made to wait over an hour on my wedding day as staff was too lazy to open a drawer and give me the key to the room, she instead just told me it wasnt there.
security requested my guests park on the yellow line,of which they were fined. the management of the resort was unhelpful and to date i have not recieved a response from him. guests that visited me the following day was made to wait at reception, while they called me at the room, weird!!! AS THERE WASNT A PHONE IN THE ROOM!
this is sad, as the resort itself is stunning. totally amazing....

Room Tip: 514,excellent view and spacious.not to mention neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

If you're travelling from overseas, Durban will most probably be your second choice to the more glamourous and chic Cape Town, but if you've decided to visit, Umhlanga is the place. Sol Kerzner built his first hotel here , The Beverly Hills, but the coastline has plenty of excellent beach front properies [mostly timeshare] to offer. Among them, is The Breakers, with it's newly reworked pool area. Three and a half pools in total, including a training pool. Moderate water slides and other kids' activities. A three minute walk, and you're on the beach. Rooms are self-catering and offer everything you will need. The two bedroom unit we stayed in, can sleep six, but is more comfortable for four. There are two bathrooms, seperate shower, two tv's and a kitchenette with lounge and dining area. All rooms in the main building have an uninterrupted sea view. Your rate will heavely depend on the time of year, but phone the timeshare office directly at the hotel, and you will probably get a room like ours for around 100 Euro a night. This is unbeatable value! There are of course restaurants on site, but a short walk to the nearby shopping centre is well worth it. The hotel will also drop and fetch you. the self-service laundrette on the third floor will also come in handy.

Room Tip: Book this hotel directly and save money. Ask fore Jean in the timeshar office if you're looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allgone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Good location and convenient for airport. Although advised that Resort was full it did not seem to be crowded. Easy access to Umhlanga for restaurants etc., and good golf courses in the area. Building work in grounds not really a problem (scheduled to be completed mid-December).

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view - suggest floor 5 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel treats young adults under 23 as criminals, restricting their access and ability to move in and out of the hotel. I chose to come to this place on timeshare to relax for a week after a tough year at varsity but I have been made even more stressed by being put automatically into a category of rowdy teenager who throws beds out of windows. This is money poorly spent and I will not be staying here again. The staff are rude towards me and this is not on. I am a paying customer and while I can understand why they may feel the need to do this they have made my stay an unpleasant one and I feel as if I have wasted money and time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zambia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Breakers resort is extremely well run and is ideal for families with children of all ages. Despite the renovation works going on at the hotel we had a very good stay.

Room Tip: balcony rooms on floors 3 and 4 but they dont have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africanfusiontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

this resort caters well to families because they have a full time childrens entertainment routine.
The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments are roomy , as well as self catering - they have a small but well equipped kitcken.
the main bedroom is comfortable and spacious and there is a daily cleaning service.
Whilst the general beach is easily accesible , the resort is a 10 minute walk from the swimming beach and a 15 minute walk to the village.The 'boardwalk' stretches for 3km along the beach front and is safe and worth strolling along.
The resort is a good base to explore the region from but a car is needed .
on site restaurant and bar is available. The casino is about 5kms away and worth a visit.
take the trips to Gateway mall, Ushaka world and Moses Mabida stadium
I will ceratianly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the 7th floor to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahorse-JOburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,818 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
191.0 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Property: Breakers Resort
Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing