We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was excellent and I always stay at Breakers when I am visiting South Africa.”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was excellent and I always stay at Breakers when I am visiting South Africa.”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I spent 2 weeks at Breakers Resort and their service was excellent and the rooms were clean. The resort itself had so much to offer and the security was excellent. Planning to go back soon. Enjoyed the walk from the resort alongside the beach to the lighthouse every morning whine I stayed at the resort. We always chose Breakers Resort because of the convenient to all the amenities . I will recommend Breakers Resort to other people visiting South Africa

Room Tip: Choose the 8th floor as the view of the ocean is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2610P1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    72
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
101
42
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel with family. It looked good in the Internet and some review were very promising. We were shocked to see a small baby poop in the pool. Yes poop. We reported this to the staff that did not care.we had to tak it put with plastic bag... The very next day another baby was swimming in the pool with out a nappy guess what another poop floating in the pool, we now called the manger and expressed our anger , we asked the staff to get a net and scoop the poop out. Nothing was said to the parents of the kid. The pool was murky and kids on the hotel got dysentery. We recommend chlorination, with very little being done.

The food , or we should say what food - shocking food. It was like the food one gets if your working on a building site. Even the cold drinks were hot, the French fries we not edible as the oil was from last year, the pizza was best never eat , frozen in the core. It's actually hard to describe how bad it was. Run for you life before you pay money to say hear.

Room Tip: Try another hole and get a good room. Stay their if you never intend to eat at the pool or the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This Cold Crown resort offers it all! We enjoyed our time at the resort a lot. The. Hotel rooms were spacious for a family of four with two baths, two separate bedrooms and kitchen, lounge and dining area. The resort itself is wonderful. My son did not want to get back into the car for three weeks because there was so much to do for them. The kids are kept busy by the entertainment team the whole day, even teenagers with volley ball on the sand court or pool, waterslides for the smaller kids, a playroom with table tennis and pooltables, an action soccer/cricket court, trampolines and 3 pools. Even for the more energetic adults a lap pool and gym. We hardly went to the beach because it was just a treat to lay around the pooldeck. The village also has a lot of restaurants to choose from. And it still has its small town feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandiGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I spent 1 week at Breakers Resort between 5th Jan and 12th Jan 2013.
Aircon leaked, we reported that on day 1 , 4 days later an attempt was made but not fixed. The multiple plug in the room did not work . spoke to reception on Sunday, nothing happened until friday when we saw the handyman at reception. Not sure if he is a handyman or a previous hotel security. Restuarant food took forever, waitress forgot the order, only person on pizza night at the restuarant and waited an hour with the wrong order. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashida m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent a week at this resort just before Christmas 2012 and we shall probably be back for a week in the near future. The staff were very efficient, friendly, and professional and were a highlight of the experience, which we enjoyed very much. Our two-bedroom apartment, serviced daily, situated on the 8th floor, with large common area and two good bathrooms, had welcome air-conditioning for the December humidity of the north coast, and we had wonderful views over the sea from the main bedroom and from the common lounge area of the apartment. The second bedroom has no view. We counted 31 ships waiting at anchor to enter Durban harbour a few miles south, so there was always something really interesting to look at on the horizon. Security was very good: entrance to and from the beach, 100 yards away, was carefully controlled to ensure that only residents could gain access. The resort facilities include three swimming pools, kept immaculately clean, though one would wish that the 30 metre training pool had been made off-limits for the kiddies, who made it impossible for those wanting to do some exercise-swimming lengths. The kids have wonderful entrainment laid on every day, but there was perhaps excessive use of the public-address system for this purpose (it is a bit tiresome to hear the cheer-leading activities of the entertainers - as talented as they were - droning on for hours at a time). The beautifully manicured lawns around the pools, with staff constantly on hand to deliver drinks and snacks to residents soaking up the sun on the deck-chairs, make the resort a hugely attractive place for anyone wanting to sleep, read or simply lounge about with friends. The food served is good quality, though for those wanting a sit-down restaurant dining experience the chairs and tables are a bit tatty and would benefit from some covering in the form of tablecloths, etc. the site's facilities are impressive: gym, laundry, games, etc, and while there is on-site Wifi coverage they would be well advised to improve this because connections are occasionally lost in some areas. Nearby restaurants exist in abundance a few hundred metres from the resort, and a mile up the road, across the main freeway, there is a massive shopping centre and mini-city where one can find virtually everything one might need to complete the holiday experience. And Durban is a short fifteen-minute drive in the traffic. Check-in and check-out were smooth and professional, with excellent service and no surprises on the bill (all drinks, meals, etc were simply signed for during the week, with no cash required). A most enjoyable holiday experience which we recommend highly.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up for the view and for relative quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian220451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed for 1 week at this resort in appartment 902 Unfotunately it was matrix week and all the accomodation in Umhlanga Rocks including our property was full of students.who were having a good time but certainly did not have the same effect on more senior holiday makers.Our Resort put rules in place for the teenagers and that was a bonus.Weather during our stay was mixed.Staff in all departments were absolutely excellent. We would stay again BUT not the first wee in December

Room Tip: High Floors for sea view but these do not have a balcony.Those with balcony do not hav a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Had a great weekend here in September, The resort is great and caters well for kids, its also the perfect location to see durban and would happily stay there again.

The staff are great and the food at the hotel is very good, All is all a great place to go

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riccardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.5 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Property: Breakers Resort
Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing