We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chikd Friendly and good accommodation”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chikd Friendly and good accommodation”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at Breakers resort last week and found the accommodation of a high standard and clean. The pool area must be the highlight of the resort, with a variety of pools for both children and adults. The entertainers got to know the guests and the person that really stood out for my children was Blessing, his caring charm and charisma made our days around the pool. The Poolside Bingo was the most fun for my seven year old daughter.
The landscaping is phenominal, not a bush out of place.
The only dispappointment was the Food and Beverage offering and service. The food is at best average, really fast foody and unimaginative and the service of the waitering staff was at times slow.
All in all however a great place to go with smaller children! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor for great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    74
    20
    7
    17
See reviews for
106
45
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Overall Breakers is not bad. It's exactly what you'd expect from the website and price. A big resort-type development. In it's favour is the awesome beach on the doorstep, lots of pools that are great for kids and a fantastic view down a lagoon with no other hotels in sight. Particular credit should also be given to the team who run the kids-club - really fun, friendly and our daughter loved them.

However, during our stay there (15-22nd Sept), there were major construction works going on in the bar / conference centre which is at the heart of the hotel and faces on to the swimming pool / garden area. Loud drilling, hammering and paint smells all day long. Obviously hotels need to do improvements but I feel they should notify guests in advance and offer a discount if they decide not to close during this period. Notices, however polite, apologising for the inconvenience are not quite good enough to make up for the lack of peacefulness. General service and friendliness of staff was also lacking a smile or a bit of pro-activeness.

They also tried to charge me R50 per 60mins on slow WIFI. With very little cell network there didn't appear to be able alternative for me to do work until I found a third party WIFI network in the hotel. Charging anything (far-a-less a rip off price) for WIFI is such a bad idea precisely because that spurred me to write this negative review here.

Room Tip: If you want a sea-view from room you'll need one on a higher floor (due to dunes and forest). Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Grew up in Durban, but had never stayed at Breakers. Was better than I had expected. We were in a 2 bed, 6 sleeper. Majestic views of the sea and unit big enough for a family of 5!
Ate often in the lounge (tasty and reasonably priced) and had coffee/cake by the pools. Also good.
Pools far too cold this time of year and would benefit from being heated.
Lovely kids entertainment programme, although we spend too much time on the beach to take advantage of kids play room etc.
Very satisfied. Just returned from European holiday and this was a notch higher in terms of service and value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Breakers is a resort that caters for all types. From families with little children to the more mature. There is a lap pool located outside as well as a water polo/volleyball pool where they have activities daily. There is a magnificent leisure where you can work on your tan and have poolside service from the restaurant's. There is a gym on the property and all rooms are self contained but you can order room service or eat out at the restaurants. It is located at the end of the promenade in Umhlanga, so for the fitness fanatics, it is a wonderful 6.4km run/walk round trip and there is also a nature walk located to the left which will take you to the lagoon. Overall it is a lovely resort and you are located close to all amenities in the village and gateway shopping centre is not far away. If you have time you must visit the Sharks Board where they tell you all about the way they clean the nets and all about sharks and the in's and out's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a beautiful resort, the facilities are top class. The garden and pool area is beautifully laid out and it is such a pleasure to sit and soak up the sun. Our Unit was situated on the 6th floor which gave us a wonderful view of the ocean.
The restaurant is presently being renovated and will be ready by December 2013 but light meals are available.
We stayed there from 03 August 2013 until 10th.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FayHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My stay at the Breakers was truly a tranquil and relaxing experience. I went out of season for a long weekend and was surprised at the scenic surrounds and lovely atmosphere. I decided to rent one of the holiday self catering apartments on the ground floor and had my own stoep on the lawn.

The facilities are of great standard and the service is efficient and friendly. The view of the Hawaan forest and lagoon gives a sense of a tropical destination out of the bustling city. Will see me next year again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFNT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We booked via our timeshare. The unit was very good and spacious. Also, great location of hotel and walking distance to the beach. As the unit was on the ground level the view of the beach was obstructed by the trees.

Room Tip: Upper levels have a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudlyDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
1.7 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Property: Breakers Resort
Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing