We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakers resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Welkom, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakers resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Breakers must be one of the friendliest, most perfectly situated, cleanest resorts in the country. We spend all our holidays at the Breakers and don't even think of another resort. The staff are friendly, the facilities are well maintained and the pool area is amazing. For any family with children, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms ground floor, walking out onto the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    70
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
95
39
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just returned from my first visit to Breakers Resort. I was more than satisfied with the resort and would recommend this place to anyone! The staff were friendly, the gardens absolutely beautiful and the accommodation very neat & clean. My kids had a ball on the waterslides. I cannot wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing, so no need to choose a good room. They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love Breakers because the resort is very clean and the location has all the convenience it can offer. I come to breakers every 2 years. From Australia. Excellent security and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: The bikes from level 8 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2610P1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been going here annually for the past 8 years and have never been disappointed. Excellent and friendly service, attentive staff, great amenities. The upgrades done since 2010 around the pool area is a definite winner as is the pool service restaurant. One of our favourite holiday spots in South Africa.

Room Tip: Try not to book during the Matric vac as it tends to get a little noisy. Also the higher floors give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faansie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with family on a holiday to South Africa. Overall the resort was spotlessly clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a 2 bed apartment which was a bit disappointing as it was quite small and felt like everything had been done on the cheap side. We appreciate that this will have been done to the owners taste.
The grounds were very pretty and had a really nice pool. I would definitely stay again but would probably go for a studio flat or 1 bed as they seemed to be a lot bigger.
Wifi was available in the main lounge area of the complex, but would have liked it in our apartment.
Generally, We did have a good time here and would go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The pool area is great for children. Lovely location, just a stone throw from the beach. I must say the stench on the entrance foyer of the resort was indeed not welcoming. We stayed on room 127. If the deco can be updated and the place kept clean it would be a lovely place. There were cob webs on the ceiling and on almost every hidden space. We spent three nights there and never unpacked our luggage because even the cupboards were not clean. The pool area of the resort was certainly the only highlight of our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpho999s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is also a place that we have stayed at many times and earlier this year we decided to go back.
The new pools, slides and gardening that has taken place makes this place so picturesque and problem the most relaxed spot in Umhlanga.

The food was average and on Saturdays when it gets really busy, the orders can take some time to get to you. The monkeys are always a nuisance but i guess that used to be their home to before the buildings went up.

See you soon :-)

Room Tip: Just make sure you lock your windows if you leave because the monkeys will get in and make a mess
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Property: Breakers Resort
Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing