We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort with some pitfalls”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Resort with some pitfalls”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have had 10 days at Breakers resort with our 2 teenage boys .We rented it through www.beachbreak314.co.za and stayed in Room 416 . On the positive side :
- Room is clean and well appointed
- Self contained and all kitchen and other equipment (TV) in good order
- Although winter we still needed the air-conditioning
- Central location on the beach
- Recently upgrade and safe and secure

The wifi is only available in the hotel lobby and the day that i needed internet it was down for 2.5 hours . Talking to a few of the staff members it seems a regular problem at the resort and in need of a significant upgrade and management intervention. For me personally , I will consider other resorts options in the future if this is not upgraded ..

Room Tip: Do your home-work on the rooms . Some of the rooms are in need for an upgrade .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    72
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
101
42
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The new-look Breakers Resort is stunning!The outside pool and recreation area especially is first class ...with a water-polo pool, length-training pool, main pool, two beach volleyball courts, trampolines etc etc....it's a kid's dream!!!!

The self-catering apartments are modern, spacious and clean - top marks!

Room Tip: The fitness centre is in the middle of being revamped, so don't expect top-class gym facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel has such an amazing location in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks.

We were blessed with great weather and the accommodation was excellent. Our room had beautiful views. The resort has amazing swimming pools, including a warm pool for kids. It is very close to the beach with lovely secure pathways to enjoy a family walk or a jog. It is a short walk to the town centre, where there is a buzzing night life and a variety of restaurants to choose from.

The resort has an excellent beauty salon and spa which I enjoyed. Staff are very professional and helpful and the rooms are very spacious with everything you could possibly need. Lovely king size bed in the main room with crisp white linen.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nazreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the most amazing time at Breakers Resort. We stayed in a privately owned apartment which was clean and comfy! Definitely no 5 star finishes or bedding etc, but we had no intention to spend much time in our room with all the many activities the resort offers! Beautiful pools (of which one was heated) volley ball, slippery slides for children and a beautiful restaurant by night with awesome wood fired pizza. Breakfast was a huge disappointment but i will not let that effect my rating of a wonderful establishment! We will definitely be back next December with the whole family and i would highly recommend this wonderful place for families and couples!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindimae-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

PLEASE NOTE this review is on a privately owned unit managed by Umhlanga Accommodation and is NO reflection on the Breakers Hotel and resort which is in fact, fantastic!

Unit 128 Breakers, Umhlanga.

I recently, 29th April, rented no.128 Breakers from your company. I am very disappointed with the accommodation and would like to bring the following to your attention:

On arrival we found the bathroom floor soaking wet, when I called you said the aircon was leaking due to previous tenants leaving the aircon on while windows were open. You offered to drop more towels off to soak up the water. Needless to say it was very unpleasant having a soaking wet bathroom floor and we were too scared to switch it on during our stay.
We found the general condition of the unit filthy and in a state of disrepair. Plaster is crumpling off the walls, the floors were filthy (don't walk around bare foot), I found an old baby bottle under the bed. Kitchen tap is completely loose. Shower tap not working properly. When the people above us empty their bath it bubbles through to our kitchen sink. The convection oven does not work properly, the buttons have all faded so you can't see what their functions are. We found a manual in the draw but the grill would not work. When we did get the oven working smoke started coming out the top vent, probably from the dirt and oil on the oven element thats is filthy.
The TV reception was very poor.
The beds are so old and uncomfortable, I wouldn't be surprised if they were from Noah's Ark! And to top it all off the resort sprinkler switches on every night at 11pm and sprays on plants outside the bedroom window which wakes us up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROD786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A really lovely hotel with a stunning pool area and close to the sea. Staff very professional and helpful and the rooms are very spacious with everything you could possibly need. Lovely king size bed and percale linen. Definitely going back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The weather was perfect and the accommodation was equally as good. We only had a short stay but really this resort has everything you could ask for, beautiful views, swimming pools, close to the beach, short drive to the town centre, where there is a buzzing night life and an enormous number of restaurants to choose from.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.5 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Property: Breakers Resort
Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing