We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anchor's Rest a pretty good BnB”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor's Rest
Ranked #1 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anchor's Rest a pretty good BnB”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for only one evening, which makes it difficult to give a comprehensive review.

The room was very clean, spacious and had everything one could ask for. What set Anchor's rest aside from some of the other BnB's was the exceptional attention from the owners. They make a massive effort to welcome you and to familiarise you with their guesthouse and how everything works.

There was a bit of construction going on, so we didn't use pool facilities, but I'm looking forward to my next visit to give it a try. I will be back before the end of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We so appreciate guests taking the time to write a review when life is so busy for everyone.

We are delighted to read that you will be back for another visit before the year will be out. We hope that you will be able to stay for more than one night next time so that you can experience the area and it's attractions at your leisure.

We have finished the construction on the new front wall and it is looking very good indeed. Peter has installed attractive outside lights on each pillar of the wall, so we are both very pleased with the end result.

Peter loves having projects and is always working on the Guest House, which is a huge advantage having the "Handy Man" live in.

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Anchor's Rest.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    42
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
133
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Anchors Rest for five nights in early April 2013
The first things to say about the place is that it is very well situated as it is less than ten minutes walk to the beach and less than five minutes walk to all the restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks. We walked each night from the guest house to the restaurants and found no safety concerns
The room was clean and comfortable (we booked the Blue Crane Suite) and the separate room for our 12 year old son was a real bonus. Both rooms had satellite television and good air conditioning which was needed as it was hot in the area when we stayed
The breakfasts were excellent, there was a 'honesty' bar and we found the owners extremely helpful at all times
I would recommend the guesthouse and wold definitely stay there again if we return to the area

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pomeroy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your most complimentary review. I have to say that it really pleases us when we read how much guests' have enjoyed their stay at Anchor's Rest as we do take our business seriously.

We love the fact that you enjoyed the close proximity of the Guest House to the facilities of Umhlanga Rocks. It is a huge bonus being able to walk to the very many restaurants just over a block away. It really does take the worry out of "drinking and driving" as one has such a short distance to walk back to the Guest House.

Thank you as well for the lovely compliments about the breakfast. Our Housekeepers do make excellent, light omelettes amongst many other tasty breakfast dishes.

If you do return to Umhlanga Rocks for another visit, we would love to host you again.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

A warm welcome on arrival from the owner, the room overlooking a lush, green garden and a great oceanview . Comfortable room . Very nice and quiet location, walking distance to the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank inge_demetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Anchor's Rest. We always appreciate receiving guests' feedback as this is important to us to be able to maintain our standards and level of service to our guests.

We hope you enjoyed your time spent in South Africa and that you will return for another memorable holiday.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Absolutely superb small guest house set in beautiful gardens . The owners and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful . The location is perfect for visiting Umhlanga , being just a 2 minute walk from the bars , restaurants and beach . Highly recommended .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mark99roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate the time and effort that our guests' take when they send reviews on Ancor's Rest. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location of our guest house so central. It really is ideal for walking everywhere.

Please do come back for another stay so that you can experience more of Umhlanga Rocks and it's attractions.

Warm regards
Cilla and Peter Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This guest house is well situated - far enough back from the village centre to be quiet but close enough to walk there in 10 minutes. Our garden room was very well appointed, with a large comfortable bed and a terrace equipped with tables and chairs, sun loungers and even a BBQ. Attention to detail thoughout the house is outstanding, with quality fixtures and fittings, great breakfasts and convenient honesty bar. Our hosts were everything we wish for and on hand to offer advice on restaurants etc. Overall Anchor's Rest proved an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thanks very much for your most complimentary review. We are always delighted when we receive good feedback from our guests and it certainly motivates us to carry on delivering a warm welcome, good service and hospitality in true South African style.

We hope that you will return to Umhlanga Rocks for another stay in the near future.

Warm regards
Cilla and Peter Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed just one night at this guest house after our trip to the Zulu Battlefields amd before our
flight from Durban to Cape Town.
The owners were welcoming although we did not see them after our initial meeting.
It seems the day to day running of the front office and breakfast is left to Sandy who was very polite and eager to chat over breakfast.
We enjoyed a cooked breafast to order with ample tea, coffee etc.
The property is well secured in a residential area with electric gates to the parking area.
The guest house is located with a few minutes of the beachfront, bars and restaurants.

Although the bedroom was comfortable, just one comment - the bathroom could do with updating ( gold taps etc - very 1980's)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed meeting you both and chatting to you about your travels and experiences in South Africa. We always appreciate getting feedback from guests who have been to different parts of our wonderful country and have experienced some of the sounds, sights and pleasures of our rainbow nation.

What a pity that you were with us for such a short time as there is a lot to see and do in and around Umhlanga Rocks, but unfortunately you only had one afternoon and evening here. It would be wonderful if we could host you again at Anchor’s Rest, only this time for longer so that we could show you what our area has to offer.

Sandy is our full time Manageress and has been with us for over 11 years. She is an absolute gem as she is so well suited to her job. She is also a qualified Tour Guide, so who better than this to tell you about, or show you the attractions of our area.

Warm regards
Cilla and Peter Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I had a very pleasant experience, the room was neat and clean, best bed to sleep on, had the nicest breakfast, best omelette i have ever tasted, the best would be the hospitality form Sandy, she was very polite, worst would be, that we had to leave. Would recommend it to anyone.






  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicolaas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much at Anchor's Rest. I have passed on your lovely compliment to Sandy and she has asked me to please thank you for your kind words.

I tend to agree with you that our omelettes are the best indeed as they are light, fluffy and full of taste. There are lots of other scrumptious dishes on the breakfast menu, so I hope you tried some of these as well.

We really hope that you will come back for another visit at some stage to be able to experience more of our hospitality and of course, more omelettes.

With best wishes for a successful 2013.
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Property: Anchor's Rest
Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing