We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rev Fikile & Noluthando ”
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchor's Rest
Ranked #1 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Rev Fikile & Noluthando ”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Anchores Rest is a superb place to visit, the staff and the owners are very hospitable, friendly and make you feel.at Welcome, like you are at home. The Guesthouse is clean, neat, cosy, luxurious and quiet. My wife and I always enjoy our stay at Anchores Rest, we always look for an.accuse to.book there, it is like a home.away from home

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nomsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on Anchor's Rest. We always enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to your visits as it's like welcoming friends back .

Please do find another excuse to come back to your 'home away from home'. Best wishes for a happy, healthy and successful 2014.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    46
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
140
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The only regretful thing about our stay was the fact we had only booked to stay for 2 nights! It was fantastically located just a few minutes walk from Umhlanga village, extremely clean and the hosts were so welcoming, helpful and genuinely interested. The breakfast was delicious home cooking and the rooms individual and comfortable. The honesty bar was a great touch too. Would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massivemoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We so enjoyed reading your review as we love it when newcomers to Umhlanga really enjoy our little piece of Paradise. Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments about Anchor's Rest which gives us such a wonderful sense of satisfaction.

We are pleased you enjoyed our great breakfasts and that you made use of the honesty bar which I make sure is well stocked for our guests.

Next time you come to our wonderful sunny coast, please do stay for longer so that you can experience more of the area.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Anchors Rest was a home away from home, secluded, peaceful and comfortable. Everything was so accessible, and the rooms were always clean when we got back from the beach. The service was impeccable with attention to detail. I will without a doubt be returning soon. Many thanks to Sandy as well as Peter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks for calling Anchor's Rest 'a home away from home' as this is what we have set out to achieve - a welcoming, homely environment, with good service of course.

Our housekeeping staff do work hard to make sure that guests' room are cleaned thoroughly and look fresh and inviting.

We look forward to seeing you again when you return for your next visit to our little haven in Umhlanga, which we are so pleased you enjoyed.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent hospitality from owners Peter and Cilla Rose, who were both very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast menu. The establishment was well maintained, nicely decorated, and has a nice homely feel to it. Very peaceful. Good location, in a quiet residential area just 5 minutes walk to the town centre shops and restaurants, and about 10 minutes walk to the sea front. I stayed for 2 nights and found it to be very good value. I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Anchor's Rest, as well as our breakfasts, which many guests have commented on. To keep our extensive menu I do end up doing a lot of grocery shopping each week, which is worth it when guests thoroughly enjoy the English breakfast.

Isn't it great when you can walk to all the facilities of Umhlanga and not have to use your car to drive the shops, beach, etc. We so enjoy being able to walk everywhere as well.

When you are next planning a trip to Umhlanga, please do come and stay at Anchor's Rest again as it will be great to welcome you back.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Best place ever. Beautiful spacious room, with not one detail overlooked, & extra personal touches, very special. Lovely garden & lounge,bar,pool area's for guests to use, & our hosts Cilla & Peter made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was amazing, set us up for the whole day. Peter gave great advice each day for sightseeing ensuring we got the most from our stay in the area. It's a very short walk to shops, restaurants & beach. Thanks Cilla & Peter for being the greatest hosts, would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kiwiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks so much for your great review, which we so appreciate. We love what we do and are so pleased that it comes through to our guests in the standards and service which we offer. Peter really is very knowledgeable about the area and enjoys helping visitors get the most out of their stay.

Please do come back again for another visit as it is wonderful to see our guests again.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013. After a long drive from Sodwana Bay we were welcomed by the friendly staff at Anchor's Rest. We had the room which viewed the beautiful garden and we felt secluded from the rest of the house which was nice. The room was nice and cozy also very clean. Everything was included in the room and we were able to cook for ourselves.

The breakfast was good with a hot breakfast option and the owner made it seem like we could order anything we wanted.

The location is about 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach, due to rain we drove to the beach. Restaurants are also about a 3 to 5 minute walk away. I highly recommend the George! They gave us free tickets to the Shark rugby match which we really enjoyed.

In a nutshell, I highly recommend Anchor's Rest to anyone. If i'm ever back in the Durban area I will be staying there again most definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank patchjanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. It pleases us so much when our guests have enjoyed their stay at Anchor's Rest and say they will return for another visit.

The George is a perfect place for a pub meal, a chat and to watch sport on TV. Most of our guests spend time there and enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere. It is certainly the most popular spot in Umhlanga and we have been there often.

Our guests often mention our great breakfasts and enjoy the variety on the menu as we try to have something to please everybody's taste buds, so we hope you tried many different breakfast items.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What makes this place so special is the people who run it. They go out of their way to make your stay as good as it can possibly be. So they found us a taxi driver who would take us a long way up the coast at half the cost quoted by our travel agent. They came up with suggestions for places to eat and ideas of what to do when the weather was doubtful. We felt genuinely welcome and completely at home. And of course the rooms were fabulously comfortable and the honesty bar catered for every taste at incredibly reasonable prices. I see no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks so much for your most complimentary review. It was such a pleasure for us to read your review as it means we have met your expectations and hopefully exceeded them as well.
We enjoy giving information and advice to our guests about Umhlanga and the surrounding areas as we are proud of where we live and hope that our guests will also enjoy being here. So it certainly sounds as if you did. We hope that you will come back for another visit to Anchor's Rest when the sun is shining and it is great beach weather.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Property: Anchor's Rest
Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing