We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor's Rest
Ranked #1 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beautiful little place with very "homy" living room, self catering bar, pool and garden. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Quiet, yet central location. Close to the beach, restaurants, motorway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Bart

Thank you for choosing Anchor's Rest for your stay in Umhlanga. We are always delighted when our guests say that they have felt at home as this is what we strive to achieve - a relaxed, comfortable, homely environment so that you can concentrate on your business activities, while we look after you.

We hope that you will return to Umhlanga Rocks for another visit, perhaps a holiday next time with your family so that they can discover the delights and attractions of Umhlanga as well.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    45
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
136
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We chose this guesthouse after reading the great reviews by other guests and were not disappointed. Peter was a fantastic host, very attentive, always on hand to assist with helpful tips and suggestions of where to eat, drink, etc. we booked the garden unit which was really private and comfortable. It had a little kitchenette which was really helpful although we did not really do much self catering. Breakfast was very good - there is a very good variety and quality available. Location is great, we got to stroll around to village every night for dinner and drinks and not worry about driving. Definitely will be back!

Room Tip: Garden suites offered great privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jay

Thanks so much for your wonderful, complimentary review. We are so pleased that Anchor's Rest lived up to your expectations - and hopefully we exceeded them!

Peter is a great host as he so enjoys the company of our guests and giving them information on where to go, what to do, etc. as he is passionate about Umhlanga and loves sharing our wonderful 'village' with our guests.

A big plus is that you can walk everywhere, even at night so you can enjoy a few glasses of beer or wine and stroll home without worrying about 'drinking and driving'.

Please do come back for another visit as we love welcoming guests back to Anchor's Rest for repeat visits.

Kind regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

An excellent stay with wonderful hosts Cilla and Peter. we had a great time for the short stay and will definitely go back as soon as we can. Felt like we were at home but without the housework and cooking.
PS: Thanks to Sandy for returning Veshant's chain, much appreciated.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Kammy

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on Anchor's Rest which we really do appreciate. We are delighted that you felt so at home and relaxed and that you will return for another stay and perhaps next time you will be able to book for a longer stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Anchor's Rest for another relaxing break.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Loved staying at the Anchor's Rest, flew in from London for a wedding, Peter Rose & staff friendly, amazing ambiance, close to all amenities, food awesome, pool incredibly clean. Def coming back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank debbieduerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Debbie

I'm so glad that you will be coming back to Anchor's Rest soon! It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for your great review - it's always so gratifying for us to get good feedback from our guests as it motivates us to keep on striving to exceed our guests expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again and welcoming you back to Anchor's Rest.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Peter & Cilla Rose the hosts made us feel very welcome, as well as Sandy the manageress. The guesthouse is so central and accessible to local shops and restaurants. Beautiful decor all round and the unit in the garden was very comfortable. We had a great stay all round. Will promote to our circle of friends and our guests that travels to KZN.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Patricia

Thanks for your great review, which we were so pleased to read. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your time spent in Umhlanga. We certainly enjoyed your company and our regular chats. It was great getting to know you. Thanks for offering to promote Anchor's Rest to your friends and guests, which is a great compliment for us.

We hope you will return for another visit before too long.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was an excellent place to stay after landing at Durbans's King Shaka International Airport.
Limited number of rooms, personal service.
We stayed at the lower level with private terrace and tidy lawn.
Close to the beach, restaurants etc
Safe place to stay.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Erik

Thank you for your complimentary review, which was a pleasure for us to receive. We are really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of Anchor's Rest, including the fact that it is a safe and secure place to stay, as well as Umhlanga Rocks being safe, as some overseas visitors do express concern. I am happy to say that all of our visitors leave Umhlanga happy and content, having experienced the great facilities of the area, the vibe plus the safe and secure environment.

Please do come back for another visit when you will next be travelling to S.A.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our two week stay at Anchors Rest Guest house will NOT be our last!! We were made very welcome from the first day to the last. It was a truly great stay for us. I can strongly recommend a stay with these lovely people.
Many thanks for a memorable time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Barry

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we will hold you to your word that this will not be your last visit to Anchor's Rest.

Having wonderful guests like yourselves makes it seem more like having friends to stay. The only problem is that time passes too quickly and we have to say 'goodbye' to our new found friends all too soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another visit, hopefully for an even longer period next time.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Property: Anchor's Rest
Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing