We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrismith
2 reviews
“A superb stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived with a warm welcome by management. Crispy clean, spacious room with attention to fine detail. Hearty breakfast served by well trained friendly staff. Well located but in quiet cul de sac. Our telephonic reservation was immediately confirmed by email with a reference and address details. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    49
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
47
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The place is well situated and offers a magnificent ocean view. It's also located next to Gateway mall (about 12min walk) which for me is one of the nicest mall I've ever been to. The rooms are very spacious & the breakfast served was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lemogang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwa-zulu Natal
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The websites do not do this place justice, I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The staff are extremely friendly and are all happy to help. I was Zoe ding 5 days in Durban by myself and the staff helped me figure out what to do during my time there. The accommodation is lovely and it felt homely, I am planning another stay here and would definitely recommend it. It isn't far from the town and a 15 minute walk from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Sandringham and it has on both occations lived upto our expectations . Shirley and her husband were great hosts and the staff in the dining room were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We really had a good time at the B&B. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The room was nicely decorated and had a feel home atmospher.The location and the view to the sea is fantas

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms are well furnished & there are some lovely communal lounges, that give it a homely feel.
The breakfast is amazing and the staff & owners very pleasant & always on hand to help. Its located in a very serene part of umhlanga ridge and has a great view of the ocean.
I will be back here for sure. Kudos Sheila & Allan!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wanjiku W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I would like to thank the staff of Sandringham for their hospitality and friendlyness while staying at yout B & B. Everything was top quality. I would recommend it to anyone out there to make use of this opportunity. We all had a great time. Will definately visit again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten luxury bedrooms all en-suite and fitted with fully ducted air-conditioning. Our rooms are serviced daily and are equipped with D.S.TV, tea & coffee facilities, room fridge, room safe, hairdryer, radio/alarm clock, internal intercom and free Wi-Fi connection. Laundry service and airport shuttle are also available on request.Other features include a spacious dining room and a shady covered patio, where you are served a full English breakfast as well as a selection of cheese, biscuits, pastries and croissants, a selection of tea's and fresh filter coffee. We have an upstairs sundeck, honesty bar and fridge, a sparkling pool, a home theatre system with an extra-large screen in an exclusive viewing lounge as well as ample and secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing