We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

An excelent accommodation, professional and well trained staff. Clean, comfortable and well positioned. Not far from the beach, but one needs a car - 5min trip to the beach. Wi-Fi singal not so good, but everithing else definitelly good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had our IT guys in to work on our Wi Fi signal and this is now much improved. Thank you for your constructive feedback and please come back soon.
Best regards
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent staff, Sandra was very professional and helpful. The staff was very efficient. Excellent location close to Gateway mall. Parking was safe and secure. The breakfasts served was also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hantie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review and my apologies for such a late response to it . We are all so pleased yoy enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future if ever your need arrises.
Our very best regards,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Eexcellent service, very neat facilities. Breakfast served on time !. The staff were friendly and were ever ready to assist with any thing. the rooms were very clean and the scenery was breath taking. The service was perfect, we'll definitely be back


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sambulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,thank you for such a really nice review. May we wish you all the very best for 2014 and hopefully we can be of service to you in the near future.
Regards ,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The room we got was very cramped, not at all the room we had booked via Booking.com. When we complained we were told that it was booking.com's fault. View on the parking lot.
Two dogs were roaming around freely, and all around the swimming pool was dog poop. DISGUSTING! Personel acted like it had never happened before and acted offended when we told them that we did not appreciated this.
Breakfast was good, anyway, but we surely cannot recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anoniem489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are really sorry you were unhappy with your overnight stay at our establishment and apologise for the One small amount of dog excrement found on our grass lawn early that morning. The two small dogs are however personal pets and are a part of our b&b.
Unfortunately your allocated room was the only one left at that time, due to the fact that it was our peak season and it was the only room available for a single night reservation .
Please accept our sincere apologies .
Michael A Goodwin
Proprietor .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Sandra was the friendly, courteous, obliging face of Sandringham. Behind her was a staff that provided a great and memorable experience for the entire family. Our grandson was also given the full attention that was granted the rest of the family. This is a most professionally run B&B. You immediately feel comfortable upon your arrival. Thank you Sandra and your team for a great stay!
Nesen and Family

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Safariman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I loved the service and the rooms were neat and the service from Sandra was out of this world. The food was delicious and we were treated with respect and appreciation.Me and my hubby will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Venesa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were absolutely surprised by the total package. From the moment we made the booking, the directions given to get to the guesthouse, the friendliness at the reception, the facilities available, quality of the breakfast, the whole happy lot!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten luxury bedrooms all en-suite and fitted with fully ducted air-conditioning. Our rooms are serviced daily and are equipped with D.S.TV, tea & coffee facilities, room fridge, room safe, hairdryer, radio/alarm clock, internal intercom and free Wi-Fi connection. Laundry service and airport shuttle are also available on request.Other features include a spacious dining room and a shady covered patio, where you are served a full English breakfast as well as a selection of cheese, biscuits, pastries and croissants, a selection of tea's and fresh filter coffee. We have an upstairs sundeck, honesty bar and fridge, a sparkling pool, a home theatre system with an extra-large screen in an exclusive viewing lounge as well as ample and secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing