We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent in all ways” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent in all ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Cannot fault anything about our stay. The breakfast, the staff, the convenient facilities were 5 star.
Definitely a place to stay in Umhlanga Rocks. Good size bedroom and bathroom with tv and bar fridge in bedroom. Lovely suburb within walking distance to Gateway mall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We really appreciate your favorable review and thank you for it. Please come and stay with us again real soon .
Best Regards from all of us here at The Sandringham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    46
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
44
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I really had a great stay in this B&Bo. Because of the friendliness and generosity of the staff, I felt as if I was at my second home. The rooms and linen are great and I definitely choose to visit here again.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon20012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We greatly appreciate your comments and thank you for them . We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
From all of us here at The Sandringham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a wonderful place to spend a weekend with my friends. Sandra and the owners are amazing. They even arranged for us to be picked up and dropped off in Gateway Mall at their cost. The rooms were comfy, clean and modern. Will stay at this place again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nontobeko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your really nice review, we are all so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Our Best Regards,
Sandra & the Sandringham Team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very Good Balanced Atmosphere! Highly Recommended! People Friendly. Just a little bit of a problem regarding access to parking, but it is Understandable due to space problem. I recommend that daily visitors should park outside!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your most kind review, we are always very pleased when a guest ,after a pleasant visit ,takes the trouble to advise us of such and we really hope to see you again soon .
P.S Working on "the parking problem "
Best Regards,
Mike and the " Sandringham Team "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Sandringham B&B. It is well situated, staff were really friendly and the room was very clean. We will definitely stay there again. The breakfast was amazing, worth every cent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cecile V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
All of us here at The Sandriingham would like to say thanks for your great review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us , hope to see you soon .
Best regards,
Mike, Sandra and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordview, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was a great experience, parking was a little bit tricky, but other than that, friendly staff and a lovely room. The lady in reception was very accomodating with a cheerful disposition, bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Your really favorable review was most appreciated , all of us here at The Sandringham would like to thank you and look forward to hosting you again soon .
Very best regards,
Mike ,Urshie ,Sandra and the rest of the team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent bnb and service outstanding, very very clean , like India five star hotels
breakfast amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you Sandra and your team you made my stay memorable , and the owner Mr Mike and Ursula Goodwin a home away from home
i will definitely recommend The Sandringham bnb and whenever i am in Durban i will definitely come and stay again again and again

Room Tip: please select the rooms upstairs with ocean view and open deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten luxury bedrooms all en-suite and fitted with fully ducted air-conditioning. Our rooms are serviced daily and are equipped with D.S.TV, tea & coffee facilities, room fridge, room safe, hairdryer, radio/alarm clock, internal intercom and free Wi-Fi connection. Laundry service and airport shuttle are also available on request.Other features include a spacious dining room and a shady covered patio, where you are served a full English breakfast as well as a selection of cheese, biscuits, pastries and croissants, a selection of tea's and fresh filter coffee. We have an upstairs sundeck, honesty bar and fridge, a sparkling pool, a home theatre system with an extra-large screen in an exclusive viewing lounge as well as ample and secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing