We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice outside Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This is a solid 4 star with very good food and service, very clean rooms. It is about 10 miles from downtown Durban across from the large Gateway Mall. You can usually negotiate a fixed cab fare ($25 US) rather than paying the meter (about $33 US). Plenty of restaurants nearby in the Mall (e.g., Cape Town Seafood). Recommend getting a suite as the price is not that much higher. Small outdoor pool on the roof is nice but not heated - you usually can have it to yourself.

Room Tip: Get a suite - they are at the end of the hallway. Top floor suites have balconies (not sure about lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTourist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

All arrangements went well. Marshall, at reception arranged booking. Discovered room was not yet available. Simply arranged something to drink while he got the problem resolved. Breakfast was great. Room comfortable. Internet connection worked 1st time round. Parking for our rental was easy.bathroom well equipped. Everything we needed. Their coffee is the best around. Walking distance to the Gateway shopping center. Easy access to the Barnyard theater.
Overall our stay was excellent. Good value for money.

Room Tip: South facing. 4th or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColemanTrevor145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay. We are delighted to receive your commendations about our facilities, service and location.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance you may require in future.


Kind regards

Tina Cattaneo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had the misfortune of staying at the hotel for 2 nights, when we booked they sent us the wrong confirmation if they cannot get that right we should have known then to cancel. First night the aircon did not work in the room, so had a terrible night (dbn is extremely humid) felt like we were in a hotbox. Reported the problem in the morning and nothing happened, only after getting upset with the reception in the afternoon did they do something. Maintainance could not fix it so they upgraded us to a family room, shortly before going to a function we tried to shower but the room had no water. So much for an upgrade more like a stab in the back for complaining. No solution just more excuses at which point we were fed-up, demanded a refund and were given one night back.

For the price the hotel is a crap hole, go stay at the city lodge 2 blocks down much nicer, cheaper and 100 times more capable. With both problems we had to make all the suggestions to the staff and management. We have even raised this with Protea head office which are yet to come back to us, if you have a problem nobody can help or they will not acknowledge it, nobody takes responsiblity. The hotel manager - Ms. Tina Cattaneo will give you a hundred and one excuses but no sincerity and absolutely no reason to ever go back. My advice to Protea Hotels is send your staff & management for proper training because the current quality of personel is shocking. The reason for a hotel is so out-of-towners have a comfortable place to sleep and refresh, neither of which Protea hotel umhlanga ridge can provide.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great location on the Umhlanga Ridge, within a walking distance of Gateway – hundreds of shops, restaurants, and entertainment and a short drive from the beach. (The airport is a mere 10 minute drive!)

Room quality is great, large, clean and bright. Beds are very comfy and the best pillows I have ever slept on. Family rooms with a kitchenette, balcony and beds for 4 are great value.

Hotel ambience is fresh, clean and urban. Staff are extremely friendly and go the extra mile to assist.

Highly recommended and I will most certainly return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kovilan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Not wildly exciting, but much more functional than the shambolic Royal Palm on the same street. Food is ok, but the room service menu is limited, and they dont do room service breakfast at all, which seems like a major ommission in a business hotel.
100MB of wireless internet for free, which worked smoothly & quickly - big plus.
Small but functional gym, good breakfast buffet. Could do with pay per view, the TV channels seem to consist entirely of sport channels.
Room and bathroom were pleasant enough, sounds proofing good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Umhlanga is a good base for business in Durban, a neat safe area about 15 minutes from the new King Shaka International Airport north of Durban, and half an hour or so from the centre of Durban.

The hotel is a short stroll across a palm-lined road from Gateway, a mall rumoured to be the largest in the southern hemisphere.

Gateway doesn't exactly have the awesomeness of Cape Town's Victoria Wharf mall or the coolness of Durban's Florida Road closer to the city, but it has everything you need within walking distance of your hotel in terms of shops and restaurants.

Great quality bed and linen, and almost black-out curtains, so good for a sound and quiet sleep.

Decent breakfast buffet, with a cereal, smoked salmon, cold meat and cheese buffet, generous fruit and yoghurt section, lots of juices and an omelette chef on duty at the bacon/sausage hot buffet. And good opening hours, 06h30 to 10h30, which suited my varying agendas on different days.

The breakfast area merges with reception, restaurant, bar/cafe and lovely outdoor area, all very nice for a business hotel. But why no Sunday papers at all? Why :-(

My family suite was spacious, clean and well serviced. A bit of an ant problem in the bathroom though. Nonetheless I liked the bath and large shower; toiletries were fine.

(An aside, as a female traveller I carry my own hair products, but will never understand why hotels offer shampoo and not conditioner. Not just you, Protea, most hotels are the same. Don't get it.) (Another aside, I'd prefer two or three soaps on arrival, then not replaced, so I don't have to jump out the bath to fetch soap from the basin, rather than having one soap replaced every day. Just a thing.)

I could have done with a better help-yourself coffee/tea set-up. In the semi-self-catering kitchen complete with sink, fridge and microwave, the instant coffee and milk offerings should have been more generous. For example, I use two milk sachets for a beverage, so if I returned at night and had a tea, that sometimes left no milk for a morning coffee. Some days I was left two units of milk by the housekeeping team, some days I had four. A small detail that's so easy to fix - more milk, or perhaps milk in the fridge?

While I'm being pedantic about tea/coffee, would have appreciated some rooibos and other tea options too. Just more variety and quantity. I don't want to have to travel with tea and milk.

Service was a bit up and down; some small service issues push this 4* hotel down towards 3* rather than up towards 5*.

Thanks for the Amarula left on one day, nice touch!

Free internet, good, that should be standard in business hotels. But you have to hunt to find out how to access it. Just so you know, wireless 100 MB per day is included.

Protea Umlhanga Ridge is excellent for business near the airport, definitely not for a holiday or weekend break.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExploreFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We loved our stay at this rather new-looking hotel. The hotel is beautiful inside, clean and modern. The staff are extremely polite and efficient. We stayed in one of the lofts and found it to be a great way to spend a holiday... a lounge and kitchenette downstairs and an en-suite bedroom upstairs. The finishes are very luxurious, and could easily fit into a 5* establishment.

You should not stay here if you are looking for a view of the ocean or you want to walk to the beach. You cannot see the ocean with ease and it's a few kilometers to the beach. Neither of these were problems for us, as we were quite content to drive there when we needed to. On the plus side, the hotel is right across the road from the Gateway Shopping Center which provides tons of entertainment and good food.

Plus :
- Good value for money
- Close to shops/restaurants
- Excellent luxurious rooms
- Great staff
- Tasty room service food and restaurant food
- great pool on the roof

Bad :
- Can't see the ocean/far from the ocean
- room service menu is limited
- a daily fee for parking, which I find ridiculous for guests of the hotel
- inflexible late check-out policy
- irritating password requirements for free wi-fi
-

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge

Address: 14 Palm Boulevard | Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £81 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge - urban tranquillity set in the hub of the Umhlanga Ridge New Town Centre. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers the perfect base from which to explore the many holiday attractions along the Dolphin Coastline of which its rich Zulu heritage and popular game parks are but a few. The contemporary styled 205 bedrooms include 74 semi self-catering units comprising of family rooms and lofts. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers a fresh and funky restaurant with outdoor deck, a roof-level swimming pool, bar and gym. Choose from our a la carte menu with an abundance of dishes from quick and easy snacks to the more sophisticated steaks and curries and watch the chefs prepare your meal! What’s a family holiday without fun activities and outings? The hotel is conveniently located opposite the Gateway Theatre of shopping, which boasts cinemas, Ten Pin Bowling, Go-karts, bumper cars and more. So make sure to put your fun hats on for an action packed holiday at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. We are also a short 15 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and 20 minutes from uShaka Marine World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing