We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A general disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A general disaster”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I agree with a few of the other reviews that this hotel is not up to 4 star quality. A minor issue at reception turned into a 45 minute wait just to check into the hotel. The staff is clearly not trained to think outside the box and/or deal with customers who may be a little upset at having to wait and their lack of training and attitude just aggravated the situation. The conference experience was a nightmare from beginning to end with no water station, insufficient food, bad layout, etc. If I can help it - I won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Sandra S

With reference to my earlier conversation with your colleague, we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback regarding your recent stay and conference with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused and be assured that the issues raised have been addressed and that corrective action has been taken to rectify the shortcomings.

When next you plan a conference in this area, please contact me direct and I will ensure that you enjoy our very best care and attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge!

Regards


Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    141
    64
    21
    13
See reviews for
51
62
11
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I use Umhlanga Ridge Protea on a regular basis. One of only 2 hotels I stay at when in KZN on business.

Great new clean rooms.

Suites are also of high standard and spacious.

Average selection for buffet breakfast.

No minibar and the roomservice menu is limited. Surely they can duplicate the in-house restaurant's menu!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BiggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear BiggyC

Thank you for letting us have your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the clean rooms, standard and size of suite and the buffet breakfast.

Should you visit this area again, kindly inform us at time of booking of your need for a minibar, and this will be arranged with absolute pleasure.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge!

Regards


Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Firstly the hotel organized a transfer from the airport which was given to a local taxi firm as the hotel does not employ it's own drivers. The driver was late, the car was 20 years old with no A/C and the driver was driving way too fast. He also didn't know where he was supposed to take us. The staff were friendly and efficient. The basic rooms are quite small so we upgraded to junior suites which were very spacious with a separate bedroom. Choice of TV channels is limited, and their was nothing to drink in the fridge, 1 bottle of water was left for us, but not replaced. The WIFI included is 500mb per day, but the reception was useless at best, and very very slow. Not sure why they couldn't provide unlimited free WIFI. Microwave was provided, but no plates/bowls or cutlery to use. If you want to stay next to a big shopping centre with a decent choice of bars and restaurants then this place is a great location. If you want the beach then you have to drive or it's at least a half hour walk (downhill on the way there) Overall I don't think this hotel offered good value for money and am unlikely to stay there again. The pool is outdoors and not heated. It's also partially shaded so is never that hot. It's only a splash pool so no good for lengths. The hotel has the cheek to say it has a gym, this is not correct. It has a SMALL workout area with 1 multi-gym machine, 2 treadmills and 1 or 2 bikes. It has some dumbbells too. To call it a gym is a liberty. Breakfast was OK, decent choice and the quality was fairly decent, although the staff serving drinks always seemed to be hiding somewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the small courtyard are quieter than those facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Matt G

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our apologies for the discomfort caused during your stay. Your experience most certainly does not reflect the high standard that we are usually proud to offer. We confirm that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action has been taken to rectify the shortcomings with regards to service delivery.

Should you plan a return visit to this area, please contact me direct and I will assure that every effort is made to ensure you enjoy our very best care and attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Umhlanga ridge!

Regards,

Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
291 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Nice location if you want to shop, but a drive away to the beach. The staff were friendly, but the family room was a bit too basic. What is the point of having a fridge and microwave, but no eating implements? It was also somewhat strange that we could not sign for breakfast, but had to pay cash there and then! Might have been embarrassing if we had not had cash! No explanation was given as to why this was either. Also very awkward when we came back from the beach to find that there were no towels. When we asked we were told we had to wait 30 minutes and when we suggested other options I.e. they get towels from the pool or an empty room the housekeeping staff disappeared, never to be seen again! 4 people had to make do with a shower to clean sand off and one hand towel. Not satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpybrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Grumpybrother

We really appreciate you taking the time to inform us of the ‘small niggles’ during your recent stay. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently and therefore, feedback is of utmost importance to us.

Please accept our apologies for the discomfort caused and be assured that we have followed up on your comments and rectified the shortcomings in our services.

The GUEST directory of services in the room does indicate that basic kitchen equipment is available to be placed in the room, should this be required. At check-in GUEST should be offered the option to either provide a deposit on their account for incidentals or pay for services at the time of delivery.

When planning your next trip to this area, please contact me direct and I will assure that every effort ismade to meet and exceed your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge!

Regards,

Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently stayed at the protea hotel umhlanga ridge for six nights and I am sad to say that it is definately not up to standard. After complaining numerous times to the manager who did try her utmost to solve the situation, I was still unhappy. The service of in house dinning is pathetic. I waited 45 minutes for my drinks to be delivered at the pool area. When my drinks finally arrived it was not even opened and no bottle opener was carried up either. I waited another 30 minutes for a bottle opener.

The room was not cleaned properly every day. There was always clumps of hair found on the floor. I had to constantly ask housekeeping for toilet paper and body wash.
There was snot on my duvet the first night that I went to bed.

Cleanliness is of utmost importance to me and if it is to you as well I suggest you not stay at this particular hotel. I know I wont!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Nathisha B

We would once again like to apologise for the discomfort caused during your recent stay. The feedback provided by the manager who was assisting you, certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that we are usually proud to offer. Please be assured that the necessary corrective action has been taken to rectify the shortcomings.

Regards


Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel, multiple visits in last three years. The children have their own room, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. You have turn down and clean up if you showered before dinner. Great staff , excellent service and outstanding management feed back. We will return any time. Two days here feels like a holiday.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Noeleen H

We love your reply ! Thank you for taking the time to let us have such encouraging feedback. Your mail has been forwarded to the TEAM and everybody is delighted!

We thank you for your loyal support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge!

Regards

Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

i stayed with my wife for the second time in this hotel for our december holidays (8 nights in total- all paid upfront non refundable). the reason to go back to the same hotel after a blooper first time around was due to shortage of accommodation in umhlanga.

both times they had a problem with their room air-conditioning. the first time we stayed in April 2013 for 2 nights, we had to change our rooms thrice and this time around when i was checking in, I had asked the management to make sure that they give me a room which has no such issue and they said they have checked and all is in order… so after dropping our luggage when we came back late that night, we realised that it was the same thing all over again… only the fan was blowing at very low speed and was hardly blowing any cold (room 511).

upon complaining, i was shown 4 different empty rooms at midnight, in which i went personally, put the air-conditioning on for an hour and came back later for inspection. To my surprise only room 319's air-conditioning was working properly, rest was all having the same issue!!

So we shifted our luggage that night. i also noticed during my stay that a lot of windows are kept open by guests, meaning the others also face similar aircon issues (and this is not because of enjoying pleasant durban weather!)

the hotel is recommended otherwise due to its ideal location but you can try your luck. my experience had 2 visits over 8 months and only 2 out of 7 aircons worked!

Room Tip: if you enter your rooms and the fan is not blowing at full blow chill and you do not hear it as slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyze_guy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Wyze_guy81

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We apologise sincerely for the discomfort caused and will contact you direct to address the concerns raised by you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge

Property: Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Address: 14 Palm Boulevard | Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge - urban tranquillity set in the hub of the Umhlanga Ridge New Town Centre. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers the perfect base from which to explore the many holiday attractions along the Dolphin Coastline of which its rich Zulu heritage and popular game parks are but a few. The contemporary styled 205 bedrooms include 74 semi self-catering units comprising of family rooms and lofts. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers a fresh and funky restaurant with outdoor deck, a roof-level swimming pool, bar and gym. Choose from our a la carte menu with an abundance of dishes from quick and easy snacks to the more sophisticated steaks and curries and watch the chefs prepare your meal! What’s a family holiday without fun activities and outings? The hotel is conveniently located opposite the Gateway Theatre of shopping, which boasts cinemas, Ten Pin Bowling, Go-karts, bumper cars and more. So make sure to put your fun hats on for an action packed holiday at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. We are also a short 15 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and 20 minutes from uShaka Marine World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing