We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here 24 dec-27 dec and again 31 dec-2 jan. We stayed here as everywhere else was full. The staff were awesome on both stays and very helpfull. Rooms are quiet small but clean and decent. Aircon worked perfectly. The hotel is in gateway mall's parking lot. I highly recommend this hotel if u on a budget. It is a 10 min drive to umhlanga beach.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    25
    3
    10
See reviews for
15
22
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vryheid
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I had booked an overnight stay here as the City Lodge I usually stay in was full. To start with the website incorrectly charged me for three rooms instead of one. It took me 6 phone calls and 4 emails before they agreed to pay me back the difference. On arrival at the hotel I was in a hurry as we had tickets to a film that was starting shortly. The lady at the front desk greeted me then ignored me. She flirted and chatted with another customer for a while then phoned someone and chatted for a few minutes. Twenty minutes later she decided it was time to let us check in. I was then told that I had booked a smoking room but requested a non-smoking room. This was total BS as I made sure I had booked a non-smoking room as I hate smoking rooms. She then raised her voice telling me that I was wrong then disappeared into the back room. Sometime later she returned and told me again that I had a smoking room but through huge effort she could get me a non-smoking. I was then told that I should learn to read what I was booking and that I should not make that mistake again. I was livid. The room she gave us was on the ground floor and the door stuck so badly it took us ages to get in. The room itself was pleasant enough with a small en-suite and was good value for money. I am sure we were given a room that had issues with the door just because I got angry. I will never stay at the hotel again after the attitude from the staff and I will send letter to the head office.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Friendly staff
Very neat hotel and in walking distance to Gateway shopping mall.
Value for money

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastlondon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I have stayed many times in your range of lodges around the country but booked out yesterday to be told the rate had increased the previous night andf I would have to pay extra. THIS IS NOT ON. I stayed 4 4 nights at a prearranged rate. This left a bad taste in my mouth. ( I would have recommended your hotel but this is not the way to do business)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7777eastlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare-Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in December. The rooms are clean and we enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to Gateway Shopping Centre and the beach. However, it would be wonderful if the rooms are divided into smoking and non-smoking.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MVMHarare_Zimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

After a recent trip to the hotel I was definitley not impressed with the service, this was earlier in the year (2009). After i complained to the manager i was promptly attended to and who assured me that this was a once of occurrance. On this visit the hotel staff definitly made this stay a five star experience. i wil definitly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting. Thanks to the manager and the staff for an excellent stay

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Keegs_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Regal Inn Umhlanga
#1 of 1 in Umhlanga
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Umhlanga

Property: Road Lodge Umhlanga
Address: 6 Medigate Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Umhlanga 1*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road Lodge Umhlanga awaits you. It’s hotel number 44 in the City Lodge Hotels group, it's the biggest Road Lodge in the country (with 125 rooms) and the great news is that it's open from mid August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Road Lodge Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing