We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embarrassing and disgusting - never again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Road Lodge Umhlanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Embarrassing and disgusting - never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I organised a training for my distributors from all over Africa to be in Durban. I decided to lodge them all at the Road Lodge in Umhlanga based on the great reviews and also on price. Well, it was the worst decision. No friendly welcome! Not a very accommodating receptionist! No maintenance staff on duty on Sundays! Some guys had been travelling by bus from Malawi for two days and we're not even allowed to check in 1 minute before 2pm. We were told that these are the rules and nothing can be done about it. The craziest thing is that I was told that because the hotel was fully occupied the night before, that there are no towels available. When I heard this, I told them that I'm checking out immediately. The towels only became available at 3.30pm.
The worst thing is that we all have to suffer through this for another 4 days because everyone was forced to pay 100% upfront! I'm disguised and embarrassed!
Welcome to not so hospital SA my fellow distributors!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Russel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and shoddy service you experienced. We take these matters seriously and will most definitely look into this to find out what transpired and why your stay was with us was so unsatisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    23
    3
    10
See reviews for
15
19
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Convenient home away from home. Travelled with teenage children. They were able to entertain themselves without me being there because they were walking to Gateway mall where they could meet their friends and watch movies.

Room Tip: Higher floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buhle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterton, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

As a budget hotel at the bottom end of the excellent City Lodge range of accommodation, this unit offers a competitive price structure but has the constraints of small rooms and bathrooms, no hospitality offerings, no source of tea, coffee or even bottled water in the room and minimal storage for bags and their contents. Walls are thin and, apert from noisy guests mentioned in other reviews, banging doors were an irritation late into the night. However it is well located adjacent to the Gateway shopping centre with limited secure off street parking. The reception area, lifts and common breakfast area were well presented and clean. Staff were friendly although, on our checking in, there were too many of them behind the desk falling over themselves to get to the available computer screens. As a short stay, low cost option, Road Lodge Umhlanga will be on my return list (and my wife's for some retail therapy).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bergview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and breakfast area. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise. We will look into this matter. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a good example of a well-run, clean and modern Road Lodge, the budget end of the City Lodge group. The rooms are small but adequate, and the price is excellent. The big downside for us was the noisy guests on our floor having a long and extremely loud conversation in the passage well after midnight. That people can be so terribly inconsiderate always blows my mind. Anyway, this is no fault of the management who have posted signs requesting silence after 10pm...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Value for Money and neat clean rooms. Adavantage close to the Gatway shopping centre and
a peaceful area to ge a good nights rest . will definately make use of the lodge in future. My stay was pleasant no complaints except for trying to get booking which is not easy since they re fully booked most of the time.

Room Tip: Neat and clean, hospitable staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohammed Fiyaaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The two redeeming features of this hotel are the friendly staff and cheap rates. The hotel gets three stars for these reasons and its location at the Gateway Shopping centre.

My stays have been one night for business, and for a quick stop that's conveniently located it suffices. My advice however, if you have your own transport, would be to look for a nearby B&B, or choose one of the other hotels in close proximity.

If budget and location are top of your priorities, the hotel is a reasonable option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Very nice hotel, well situated, 2 mns walk to Gateway mall. The room was clean but a bit small. With luggages.i would also suggest having a kettle and cups in the room with some complimentary coffee or tea for once at least. At the reception it was ok overall, the gentleman who was at the reception on the day of our arrival when we checked in on the 20th Nov was very helpful and courteous

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
9.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Umhlanga

Property: Road Lodge Umhlanga
Address: Cnr Medigate and Hospital Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Umhlanga 1*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road Lodge Umhlanga awaits you. It’s hotel number 44 in the City Lodge Hotels group, it's the biggest Road Lodge in the country (with 125 rooms) and the great news is that it's open from mid August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Road Lodge Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing