We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #4 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I loved it”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I loved it Helen and her Husband were very warm and helpfull i would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    45
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
38
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have been to Crooked Tree Cottage a few times and have always had great, friendly service. Helen is always accommodating and makes you feel welcome every time you visit! I love it there and will continue to go back for holidays and business trips :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesica26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If you are looking for accommodation in Durban look no further. This is a well located guest house with the comforts of your own home. My room had a kitchen and bathroom with shower on suite. The beds are huge and comfortable. The room is spacious with an a/c and a balcony for fresh air. Well maintained and of the utmost high standard. I have stayed here on business about 10 times in the last year and recently stayed for a holiday visit with my 3 yr old daughter. The hosts are awesome and friendly and will always go beyond the call of duty to make their guests feel relaxed and at home. THE PRICE IS ALSO GREAT FOR THE QUALITY OF THIS PLACE...... WELL WORTH IT!!!!

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms with a view (but most have views so you cant go wrong!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDSHNAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Enjoyed a comfortable 2 nights in December. The area appears safe and the rooms are clean and adequate. The bed was comfortable and having DSTV was useful to catch up on the sport shown on Supersport 1 & 2. It isn't safe walking distance to the beach or the village but you close enough to drive there in about 3 minutes. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours which gives me that horrible “I'm staying in somebody else's home” feel. It is a pity there is such a lack of reasonably priced accommodation in the greater Durban area but if all you require is a bed for the night then this will do.
The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_acacia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
In response to Andy's review, firstly I would like to say thank you, all reviews are welcome.
Crooked Tree Cottage is actually within safe walking distance to the beaches and the village of Umhlanga (less than 600m).
With regards the adequate breakfast comment, he stayed here on a self catering basis. However the suite he was booked into offers a variety of cereals, teas and coffees free of charge to guests. If Andy decides to come again and books on a B&B basis I have every confidence he would leave very satisfied with our breakfast menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Crooked Tree Cottage is located in the northern Durban suburb of Umhlanga, very easy to reach from the new Durban airport and only a 15 to 20 minute walk away from the beachfront and probably an equidistant walk in the other direction to the big Gateway mall just off the highway at Umhlanga. Driving to any of these locations from the B&B is very easy and quick, so shopping and eating out are within easy reach.
It’s a very pleasant little inn, on a residential property, protected by a fence and remote-controlled gate and you buzz or use remote control on your room key to let yourself in. There are parking spaces available onsite.
We were a party of seven and stayed for one week over the football world cup and had rented the cottage with 3 double rooms (all with ensuite bath), a kitchen and lounge. Each guest room has local TV; satellite TV stations are on the TV in the common sitting area. Everything was nice and clean, we had all we needed for a great stay. I would gladly return to the Crooked Tree and enjoy more of the nice and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing