We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #4 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Helen, I appologise it has taken me so long to finally give this place the wonderful review it deserves. Me and a friend stayed here for 1night on route to safari. We were greeted with smiles and warm faces. Lovely room and excellent breakfast provided. Helen was lovely as was her husband and dogs. Very helpful too. Will definatly return should I ever need a few nights accomodation in Umhlanga again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you Freya - that was a long time since you were here, but thank you for remembering!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    45
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
38
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Crooked Tree (CT) and I strongly recommend it. My special dietary needs were well-catered for, the rooms are top quality & hosts are really nice, helpful people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 626Amanda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
You give us too much credit! Thank you for the great comments and hope we see you again next year same time! Good luck with all the "strategising"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The house is in a lovely part of Durban, in Umhlanga. It is well located near major highways that link to the airport and the city, so getting around is easy. The accommodation was pleasant and very spacious, and the owners are fun and very welcoming. This was my second time staying there and I'll be going back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GugstaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thanks very much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I enjoyed staying at crooked tree, i wanted to be in a quite place and i got that. I slept for four nights and enjoyed the room, i like the fact that there was books to read.The hosts were very friendly, i felt at home, i will definitely book there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silas2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hey Silas, thanks you for the kind words, it was great to meet you. Hope we see you and maybe your family here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

My fiancé, family, friends and I stayed with Helen at The Crooked Tree Cottage for 8 days in January whilst we were in SA for our wedding.

We were so impressed with the cottage and the two rooms we booked. The pool area was fantastic and we were able to brai. There was parking available for our hire car and our guests.

The location was spot on, Helen and her husband were friendly, helpful and nothing was ever too much.

We would go back tomorrow and stay at Crooked Tree without hesitation. We would recommend Crooked Tree to anyone-a couple, friends, families.

It was perfect and if my brother gets married in SA (he was so impressed with everything) we will definitely be staying with Helen.

Her follow up was very thoughtful, considerate and much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minelli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad you all had the most amazing time and are glad we could contribute to your experience in a small way! We would love it if you all came again for another wedding so let us know when!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Travelling a lot leaves one with the problem of where should I stay. At Crooked Tree I have found exactly what I wanted. Friendly hosts and an excellent room. Good breakfast and even follow - up after the stay - Perfect

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wikus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Room was well kept and in pristine condition with more than enough space.
Very impressed that the room also had more than what I was expecting as they even provide cereals in the room.

Area is quite and well maintained and the room which I stayed in had great views.

But the reason why I would recommend anyone staying at the Crooked Tree Cottage is the hospitality, from the warm and friendly welcome to getting to know each other over breakfast, the friendliness will definitely be the reason why I will revist the Crooked tree

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Hi Jerome
Thank you so very much for the review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed meeting you. We do not often get guests from Umtata - we are still talking about the number of Spars you have there! Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,820 reviews
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing