We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #5 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“What good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

My time at Crooked tree Cottage was, well amazing. Very good hospitality and very tasty breakfast. Might I add that the DVD collection is a nice treat when the weather is not really fun. I really enjoyed my stay at Crooked tree Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you CJ - hope we see you again soon when you come down this way. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    43
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
37
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse for the first time. The rooms are very good and the balcony has a nice view to the ocean. The breakfast is fantastic and the owners are very keen to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are a bit noisy but for one night this isn't an issue. My colleagues phone went of at 5AM and this was good to hear in my room. The house we stayed in had 3 rooms with a nice lounge area, dining table and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Egon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Helen, I appologise it has taken me so long to finally give this place the wonderful review it deserves. Me and a friend stayed here for 1night on route to safari. We were greeted with smiles and warm faces. Lovely room and excellent breakfast provided. Helen was lovely as was her husband and dogs. Very helpful too. Will definatly return should I ever need a few nights accomodation in Umhlanga again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you Freya - that was a long time since you were here, but thank you for remembering!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Crooked Tree (CT) and I strongly recommend it. My special dietary needs were well-catered for, the rooms are top quality & hosts are really nice, helpful people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 626Amanda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
You give us too much credit! Thank you for the great comments and hope we see you again next year same time! Good luck with all the "strategising"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The house is in a lovely part of Durban, in Umhlanga. It is well located near major highways that link to the airport and the city, so getting around is easy. The accommodation was pleasant and very spacious, and the owners are fun and very welcoming. This was my second time staying there and I'll be going back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GugstaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thanks very much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I enjoyed staying at crooked tree, i wanted to be in a quite place and i got that. I slept for four nights and enjoyed the room, i like the fact that there was books to read.The hosts were very friendly, i felt at home, i will definitely book there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silas2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hey Silas, thanks you for the kind words, it was great to meet you. Hope we see you and maybe your family here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

My fiancé, family, friends and I stayed with Helen at The Crooked Tree Cottage for 8 days in January whilst we were in SA for our wedding.

We were so impressed with the cottage and the two rooms we booked. The pool area was fantastic and we were able to brai. There was parking available for our hire car and our guests.

The location was spot on, Helen and her husband were friendly, helpful and nothing was ever too much.

We would go back tomorrow and stay at Crooked Tree without hesitation. We would recommend Crooked Tree to anyone-a couple, friends, families.

It was perfect and if my brother gets married in SA (he was so impressed with everything) we will definitely be staying with Helen.

Her follow up was very thoughtful, considerate and much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minelli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad you all had the most amazing time and are glad we could contribute to your experience in a small way! We would love it if you all came again for another wedding so let us know when!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing