We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #4 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Friendly and assistive owners made my short stay enjoyable and worthwhile. The food was delicious and made to perfection. There was always a supply of goodies (teas, coffee, fruit juice, rusks, yoghurt) in the kitchen. The owners made an effort to ask how my stay was and suggested various things to do. Definitely value for money and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you Gabriel for the great review, it was great to meet you. I do hope you enjoyed Umhlanga and there was enough to bring you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    45
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
38
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stunning accomodation, more tv channels would be great though, but otherwise very homely atmosphere and ideal for a small family staying between 1 and five days. Helen is the perfect hostess. Will be back for sure.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Eugene - thanks for the review and suggestions, the TV channel recommendation is noted:) I hope the kids enjoyed their stay as well, they certainly seemed to be excited - but then girls always are when they are small!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villiersdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

As a regular traveler i stay in hotels or B&B between 2 and 3 weeks every month but i got to say Crooked Tree is almost like home to me. Awesome hospitality, great rooms with a lovely views and a great breakfast. Helen and Reinhart are very keen to make your stay comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baardbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
As always Willie it is a pleasure to have you here, we always look forward to seeing you. Thanks so much for the review! Don't forget to collect you bag on your way home this week!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My time at Crooked tree Cottage was, well amazing. Very good hospitality and very tasty breakfast. Might I add that the DVD collection is a nice treat when the weather is not really fun. I really enjoyed my stay at Crooked tree Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you CJ - hope we see you again soon when you come down this way. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse for the first time. The rooms are very good and the balcony has a nice view to the ocean. The breakfast is fantastic and the owners are very keen to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are a bit noisy but for one night this isn't an issue. My colleagues phone went of at 5AM and this was good to hear in my room. The house we stayed in had 3 rooms with a nice lounge area, dining table and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Egon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Helen, I appologise it has taken me so long to finally give this place the wonderful review it deserves. Me and a friend stayed here for 1night on route to safari. We were greeted with smiles and warm faces. Lovely room and excellent breakfast provided. Helen was lovely as was her husband and dogs. Very helpful too. Will definatly return should I ever need a few nights accomodation in Umhlanga again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you Freya - that was a long time since you were here, but thank you for remembering!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Crooked Tree (CT) and I strongly recommend it. My special dietary needs were well-catered for, the rooms are top quality & hosts are really nice, helpful people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 626Amanda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
You give us too much credit! Thank you for the great comments and hope we see you again next year same time! Good luck with all the "strategising"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing