We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #5 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Came to crooked tree on a weekend break from joburg. Great location, a short stroll from the beach, and room was very comfortable and well equipped. Reasonable breakfast served by 9am and very friendly hosts. A really good guest house this one - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samblue2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review, enjoy your travels and don;t work too hard!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    43
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
37
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

i phoned at very short notice & Helen was very accommodating. The room i had was very clean & presentable. It also had a fridge/freezer in the kitchenette section which was handy for me as i was travelling with frozen & chilled food samples. The place is up the road from Umhlanga Rocks ,so its very convenient . Big hearty breakfast the next morning & excellent hospitality .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We only stay at Crooked Tree Cottage when doing business in Durban.
This is having a home from home. Owners's hospitality is excellent. Famous omelettes are out of the books and the rooms are neat and fully equipped.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tillie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review Tillie - it is always a pleasure to have you all here. Hope your doggies are behaving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Home from home. Not your kind of plastic hotel outfit. Hosts are genuinely warm and receptive. Treated me almost as long time friend
Appreciated the crisp and clean linen, availability of good wi-fi connection

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Faan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Faan, thank you so much for the wonderful words, you are always such a gentleman! keep up the biking and and see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Crooked Tree B&B was super accommodation with great food, excellent views and hospitality that could not be bettered. Helen and Reinard offer a wonderful place to stay with value for money, particularly for overseas visitors, and I would not hesitate to stay at the Crooked Tree again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Eileen - Thank you - you were a wonderful guest! Good luck with you know what and keep traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannsburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent. Great location. Clean spacious room with a great view of Umhlanga. Breakfast was also outstanding. Helen and partner were most excellent hosts. Will be back on my next visit to Durban. Jerome

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank a lot for the great review Jerome, hope the golfing is going well, and don't forget to come again soon, we are holding your shoes for ransom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Close to all amenities in Umhlanga. The lack of laundry facilities was a problem.
There is a local laundry which we visited but did not take advantage of as it did not appear very good on inspection. We did find a better laundry in the village itself.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback and compliments. I have made a note about the local laundry and will try and address your issues with them. I do hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay and good luck on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing