We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST STAY, AND DEFINATELY WILL RETURN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Country Lodge
Ranked #8 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“FIRST STAY, AND DEFINATELY WILL RETURN”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My stay at Gateway Country Lodge was really great. From arrival until we left we received such a special service and attention, and my kids loved it as well.

I highly recommend Gateway Country Lodge for a very peaceful and extremely comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ThulaniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Manager at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon. we will also have a few more facilities in our lapa on your next visit. Thanks again and God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    40
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
37
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vereeniging, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful stay, in nature, away from the hustle and bustle, then this is where you want to be. The trees with all the birds going about their business, sitting on the verandah, relaxing, reading, and generally just recharging our batteries. We love the setting. The trees make it cool and refreshing and the pool is also available. Will definately always go back there. I would recommend maybe in room 3 a small microwave oven as we like to make milk coffee and maybe heat a snack to eat later in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BeverleyJ245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for your kind words, we love it here as well. Although we have a microwave specifically for the guests in the hall we have also built a lapa in which we will put a microwave as well. Thanks for the advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Highly recommended. Just a doorstep from the hustle but inside the walls it's serene, quiet and away from everything. Interior and exterior beautiful. Ina and Eugene's hospitality sincere. Could improve on breakfast, use less salt and make it more versatile, but you only notice that after 7 days, else it's great. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EleonoraH168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks again for staying with us, we really enjoyed having you with us. Thanks for the suggestions with regards to the breakfast and we will try to make it more versatile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

February, 2013 was our second visit to the Gateway Country Lodge - the owners are very accommodating. The garden setting is beautiful - we had a very relaxing time again. We will use this facility again on our next return to Durban.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words, you will always be welcome at our Guest House. We have built a lapa for our guests to utilize and look forward to enjoying a braai with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Make sure you get a recent map to get to the Lodge, not that easy to find.

As we arrived in the evening and only stayed for 1 night, I can only make a short review.
Welcoming was nice, friendly host, honesty bar.
Rooms are clean, spacious and have a clean and fully equiped bathroom.
Breakfast was OK, nothing to complain about.
Our host gave us some tips for dining out in the town with a map, very much appreciated.

Wish we could have stayed a day more to get to know the host and the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattenpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My family and I stayed at Gateway Lodge in April 2012. After a horrendous flight from the UK with our two boys we couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. Beds beyond comfortable, room spotless and Ina's breakfasts are to die for! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time out to review our guest house. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Ina and Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Located in a leafy suburb of Umhlanga this hotel was beautifully kept and very welcoming. The rooms were clean and food great, and with the Gateway shopping centre just 5 minutes away it was very conveniently located. We had a great time staying here and can thoroughly recommend it to others. The property was very secure and right at the back of the estate. The road was not on the Sat Nav but easily found as a small private track off the local street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Travel_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Property: Gateway Country Lodge
Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing