We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Country Lodge
Ranked #12 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I had a wonderful stay!
The rooms are very neat and tidy, it has a home-like feeling.
I loved the garden and the 'stoep' where I could enjoy it thoroughly.
The breakfast and service is very good.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marlise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks Marlise, for your kind review, it was lovely to accommodate you and we really appreciate your comments. Please feel free to contact us if you feel there is any way that we could improve our service to you and our other guests. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    39
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
35
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just want to thank You for an amazing stay at your Country Lodge. A luxurious room, beautifully decorated in such a peaceful setting. Couldn't ask for a more delicious country breakfast! Very welcoming and the most relaxing visit for family and friends! With much appreciation

Room Tip: Family self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and are pleased to hear that everything was to your liking. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review as it is important to our business to get referals like yours. We try our best to make sure that our guests are happy and looked after and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The rooms are neat and clean. The owners are always friendly. The breakfast is perfect to strat your day with. Always quite with a welcome atmosphere. It is centrally located in Umhlanga very close to Gateway Mall. All my busness trips to Durban since 2012 are booked at Gateway Country Lodge and will continue to be book at the Gateway Country Lodge going farward.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSARA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you Susara for your kind review, it is much appreceiated. We are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The room was a nice size and the owners very welcoming. It was a bit hard to find as it is tucked away on a small side road.The breakfast was pretty average but satisfying. Overall though a cosy and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review and we were happy to accommodate you. If there is anything that we can do to make you next stay more confortable please phone (031 566 1206) or email us (info@gatewaycountrylodge.co.za). We hope to see you soon and hopefully we can improve on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Always lekker to stay at Ina's! Friendly family, great rooms and a good location. Rooms are comfortable, breakfasts are good and the place is quiet. It feels tucked away even though it centrally located in Umhlanga.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks Duncan, it is always a pleasure to have you Cape Town Wine Merchants / Surfers in town. Hope you enjoyed the warm waters off the Kwazulu Natal Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Thank you Ina, Eugene and all the doggies for a lovely stay! Not one negative thing to say about your property! Lovely garden and warm hospitality! Attention to detail. Great location for Indaba accommodation, as this is only a few kilometres away from Getaway Shopping Centre. See you next year, hopefully with the whole team.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeriwinkleLodge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review Djana, it was lovely to meet you. We would love to host you again and this time hopefully you could take time out from your busy business schedule to sit around the fire in our new boma to shoot the breeze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a business trip taking time out for some holidays. As a lone traveller I was looked after extremely well and the property owners and staff were very helpful, thoughtful and informative. Room 3 where I stayed is simply lovely! Great breakfast, lovely grounds, comfy bed, the only slight niggle being that the wifi doesn't quite always reach all of room 3, but no problem, in the pleasant guest lounge there was a very strong signal!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review, we also enjoyed having you stay with us. We are in the process of getting a booster for our WiFi so the signal should be better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Property: Gateway Country Lodge
Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing