We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Country Lodge
Ranked #11 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent , welcoming stay while I was on business. I advise anyone to give it a try as it is close to shops and everything else you need. Safe and good price for the quality I received. Thanks for always making me, as a guest, feel welcome and for the great breakfast each morning. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Manager at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    36
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
34
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

great trip,I felt like home because of the comfortability,cleanliness.the service of the staff was very good indeed ,my kids really enjoyed the warmth and everthing inkling the food.we will definitely come back on our next holiday.thank you so much staff .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Suzann for this wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to review our B&B and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

It was a very nice hotel, rooms were clean and neat. breakfast was nice also. the place is relatively quiet.
also problem is location and route to hotel can be improved. there are too many bushes on the route to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rao A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks Rao for your kind review, we really appreciate feedback. We are not sure what you mean when you refer to the bushes on the way to our B&B but most visitors love the fact that we are in a country like setting right in the middle of Umhlanga Rocks. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

While attending a conference in Durban, my wife and I stayed a week at the Gateway Country Lodge in Umhlanga, a suburb of Durban. We loved it! The setting is beautiful—a real tropical garden. It’s not fancy, but is very comfortable, with large rooms and a very homey vibe, complete with friendly dogs and cats to cater to the needs of lovers of both kinds of pets! And the owners, Ina and Eugene, are wonderful hosts, ready to go out of their way to make your stay a great experience. Beds were quite comfortable. Rooms had wide-screen TVs, but we never used ours. Air conditioning was quiet and worked well. There’s a fridge in each room, and a central microwave is available for guest use. So, several nights, we just heated up leftovers from previous nights’ dining out, since the portions served in South African restaurants are usually quite generous. We dined al fresco in the covered open air pavilion by the pool – wonderful! And we got some great pix and vids from the troupe of Vervet monkeys that comes through every day (encouraged by some feeding!). They won’t come real close to you, but close enough to take some good photos.
There are a few downsides. For one thing, it is a bit of a drive from the central business area (about 250 rand cab ride, and 20- 25 minutes). We had our own car, so this wasn’t a big problem for us. We did have some issues with the wifi, which was available only in the central breakfast/ TV room area, and would drop the connection periodically. But the owners have already contracted to upgrade the system, so in the future it will be available in all rooms. (If this is a critical issue for you, best to check with them on the status of the upgrade.) But all in all, we found it a great, cozy place to stay, and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Wow John thanks for the in depth review. Ina and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and used our facilities to the max.

Your conference was held in the Durban ICC which is about 25 km from Umhlanga but most of the companies have moved out from the central CBD to either Umhlanga or La Lucia's business parks, so in fact we are happily right in the middle of the new business district.

After listening to your suggestions we have upgraded our WiFi to incorporate cover to all our rooms instead of just in the common areas. Sorry you left before we could put this in place but we have already had guests complimenting us on the improvement.

Thanks again for your compliments, we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

A bit difficult to find but the directions supplied were very good.This is a B&B establishment .I had visions of a Blackpool landlady but was very much mistaken.
The rooms were like little bungalows set in a lovely garden.Lots of monkeys on the roof frolicking about.
A full English breakfast with yogurt and fruit coffee tea.
There was also an honesty bar where you helped yourself to alcoholic brinks and left a ticket and settled up upon departure.Luckily for mine hosts we were all honest.There is a swimming pool

A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us Spud, we are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embalenhle, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had a great time. Our stay was very pleasent as we were welcome warmly by the staff at the guest house. Will no doubt stay here again the next time I visit Durban. Thanks to Ina and her husband, the staff at the guest house our stay was very pleasent. I have went as far as recommending the guesthouse to some of my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Micheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you Micheal for this wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to review our B&B and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The owner was very helpful and kind and the B&B is set in a beautiful garden. We had a pleasant stay, but I have in stayed in other 4 star B&B's that was very luxurious in comparison. I was assured by the owner though, that they were 4 star standard....so who knows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank coertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Our accommodation is favorably comparable to similar B&B in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Property: Gateway Country Lodge
Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing