We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View Bed and Breakfast

Ocean View Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umhlanga Rocks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Karlsruhe
2 reviews
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

After staying in the bush we looked for a place close to the airport for easy continuing our holiday. We found Ocean View and were happy with a very comfortable room. We met really nice people, enjoyed a delicious breaktfast and a good view to the ocean. It is a beautiful place to stay and relax!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WulfricderLaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewUmhlanga, Owner at Ocean View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you Adelheid and Frank for your quick visit. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us between your trips to the game reserves around the country. Hopefully you were able to enjoy some sunshine before heading back to germany and the colder months ahead. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I booked at Oceanview Bed & Breakfast for a period of six days.

Upon arrival, the level of service and greeting was excellent and I was made to feel very welcome by Helen.

She sat me down and explained all that could be done whilst on holiday in and around the area. She even provided me with brochures and maps to assist me and I was pleased to learn of easier routes during peak hour traffic to go to the beaches.

Oceanview Bed & Breakfast is in a convenient location and very close to Gateway and the beaches as well as very reasonably priced.

Very clean and neat accommodation, with delicious breakfast on the patio and it was a real pleasure to stay there.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would stay there when I’m in Durban again.

Thumbs up for the brilliant service!

Sunitha Sukhdeo

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewUmhlanga, Owner at Ocean View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We are delighted to have happy guests who appreciate our efforts. It is a pleasure to be of service to our visitors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and 2 teenagers recently stayed in the 1st Floor apartment.
Well it was enormous - a lounge, separate bedroom, bath and shower en suite and its own kitchenette. The views from the balcony magnificent. We watched the full moon rise each evening.
It was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts sumptuous.We had our own entrance and our hire car was parked in a secure area next to the apartment.
We have just got back from our travels throughout South Africa and this was by far the best accommodation we had stayed.
I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The 1st floor has the best views, however the ground floor unit also has sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewUmhlanga, Owner at Ocean View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
It is a pleasure to share our property with local and overseas visitors who can enjoy the lovely setting of our establishment. We look forward to seeing many return visitors. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Don't bother searching trip advisor for a B&B in umhlanga, just book at Ocean View.
Excellent value (very spacious for a B&B as 2 of their units have a kitchenette & lounge area), great sea views away from the hustle & bustle of the village.
Lovely patio areas to relax & have a drink whilst looking out to sea, & a beautiful well kept pool if u fancy a dip. Lovely flat immaculate gardens adding to the peaceful setting.
Breakfasts are good every morning, & we have already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bringonthehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

One of the best, if not the best, guesthouse we have stayed in.
Lovely sea-views.
Spotless. Secure parking on site
The double rooms have a separate lounge/kitchenette.
Helen's breakfast is to die for. Healthy and a full English Breakfast
Service out of this world.

Room Tip: The 1st Floor Ocean view has the best sea-view, however we were in the ground floor unit and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanO803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

This B&B is located in a very nice residential area. We were surprised by the size of our room: it was more like a full size apartment! Very modern and comfortable, and spotless.
In the morning sun, we enjoyed a great breakfast on our patio, which gave out to the garden. Superb start of the day.
Don't hesitate, just go for it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We arrived on Saturday having flown from Johannesburg and were amazed by the reception we received from Helen and her team.For the next six days our upstairs unit was home away from home. Nothing was ever too much for Helen and she went out of her way to cater for all our culinary preferences.We have now marked our spot in Umhlanga and it is Ocean View! With its pristine surrounds inevtably an object of our affection, we can't recommend the tranquil Ocean View enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Siile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#6 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chartwell Guest House
Chartwell Guest House
#18 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Addis Bed & Breakfast
Addis Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Gunda Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Bed and Breakfast is a modern, spacious and comfortable accommodation in Umhlanga Rocks on the east coast of South Africa. It is a sought after premier tourist and business destination on the North Coast of Kwa-Zulu Natal just 10 minutes north of Durban, and 15 minutes from King Shaka International Airport. We have a peaceful garden setting with views of the Indian Ocean from most of the garden and rooms. The security is excellent with safe, spacious parking. We offer value for money with warm, friendly service, lovely tastefully decorated accommodation and delicious breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming guests for business or holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing