We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average HIEx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average HIEx”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel is relatively new. It is located within walking distance (at your own risk) of a shopping center. My room was on the seventh floor at the rear of the hotel over looking other buildings and a building site, rather than the sea view at the front of the hotel. The room was adequate and very clean.

The hotel has a small pool which is tucked away at the back of the hotel. At the front of the hotel is a terrace which can be windy but avoids the road noise and has better views.

Small free WiFi allowance.

The check in staff seemed less skilled than other HIEx hotels I've stayed in, they seemed to be unsure of the services they could provide. The late afternoon bar staff were atrocious, being short of change and unaware of the drinks they served, terrible house wine, no coffee served.

The saving grace of the hotel is it's 'newness', this will soon wear off and the inadequate training of it's staff will then reflect badly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Lotse,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are constantly striving to improve and exceed our guests expectations and service levels. From your report on this, we see that we have dropped the ball on your guest experience, for which we would like to apologise and thank you for your feedback. The feedback that you have provided will be used in identifying problem areas and assists in our contineous training programs.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    187
    86
    30
    14
See reviews for
89
98
17
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Rooms are very fresh, clean and have all the facilities needed. WIFI is free for the first 50Meg, would be nice if it was the first 100meg per day. Location is spot on. Easy to walk to the Gatway centre and very handy for the freeway road network. Not really a family hotel as the pool is a little small.

Breakfast service is easy and has a good selection. I would highly reccomend this hotel, it has frills and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room, on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Wattsmark,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga. We are honoured to have met your expectations and we hope to welcome you back on your next business trip to Umhlanga.

Regards
Andrew Merrill and the Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This chain has it right, good rooms and good helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear brewersfriend,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to Umhlanga.

Kind regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I had a really great stay in Durban on business. Ocean view, good food at the restaurant. Can't go wrong on this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducknc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear ducknc,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us January 2012. Our location offers unparralleled views of the Indian Ocean, making us an excellent choice for a guests on the Umhlanga Ridge.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Umhlanga.

Kind Regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Christmas period. It's situation in a great position at the top of Umhlanga, offering spectacular views of the ocean. It's first interior impression is good, modern. However, our room was extremely dirty, we complained and were moved to another room in around twenty minutes. The second room wasn't too clean either but we pointed out a few spots of dirt and the staff were willing to sort it out. The showers, could however, do with a good scrubbing. The breakfast was the same on all three days of our stay. Fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, sausages and scrambles egg, tea coffee, etc. the cost of which is included in your stay. Parking under cover has to be paid for at a cost of R60 per day. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, it had all we required and offers wi-fi too.

Room Tip: If you enjoy looking at the sea, request a sea facing room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

In all respects I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Still new from the World Cup development drive, the place is neat and has a good quality finish in the rooms.

The staff here are brilliant, everybody was friendly and professional throughout my 5 days here.

A little far from the centre of the village, but during December this is actually a blessing.

Can not comment on the food as there are plenty of places to explore in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony (rooms 311, 411, 511) or a room on floors 3,4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleManagementTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bombay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Situated in a lovely place. The room looks out onto the sea and just behind the hotel is the Gateway mall. Complete business hotel though. The hotel feels like one in every way starting from the quiet almost dead ambience to the small breakfast spread. The rooms don't come with free wifi

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncethegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Bombay,

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor in December 2011.

The Holiday Inn Express Brand offers a new decluttered limited service brand catering to the corporate and leisure short stay guest. Also a great new addition since October 2011 is the offering of free Wifi service to all guests offering 30 mb per day.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga.

Kind Regards
Andrew Merrill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing